Universal links in iOS

Last day I was asked to integrate deep linking in one of the app that I made last year. It was in objective-C. I had to face so many issues doing this as there are no proper documentation and the one that is available over the internet are not straight forward. Here, I will share what I understood and how I did it.

Abhimuralidharan
iOS Essentials

--

Disclaimer: To make this article I had to read a lot of stuffs over the internet. Also, I had copied easy to understand examples and sentences from other article to make this article meaningful. 🤓 🤓 🤓

Apple docs link for universal links.

What Is A Deep Link?

A deep link is any link that directs a user past the home page of a website or app to content inside of it. e.g. linking directly to a product instead of the home page. For example the URL fb:// may open the Facebook app, but fb://profile/33138223345 opens Wikipedia’s profile in the Facebook app.

If you want to share a pair of shoes from the amazon.com with a friend, you can send a deep link that brings your friend directly to those shoes in the app. Without a deep link, your friend would have to find the amazon

--

--