CS371p Spring 2019: Abhinav Kasamsetty

Abhinav Kasamsetty
2 min readApr 28, 2019

--

Week 13: 22 Apr — 28 Apr

What did you do this past week?

This past week, I didn’t have much work. For my Practical NLP class, I worked on my group’s Question Answering project. For this class, I worked on the Life project and my partner and I ended up passing all the HackerRank tests. In class, we learned about inheritance and practiced implementing inheritance on HackerRank with Shape and Circle. I also became addicted to Game of Thrones and ended up watching six seasons in one week.

What’s in your way?

Luckily, I don’t have much in my way in the near future. Apart from my weekly homework in Japanese and Competitive Programming, my partner and I still have the acceptance and unit tests left to do for the Life project. In Practical NLP, we’re starting our last project, so I’ll have to begin working on that with my group. I’m starting to get worried about finals as they’re getting closer, so I should definitely begin preparing for them.

What will you do next week?

Next week, the two main things I’ll be working on are projects for this class and Practical NLP, as mentioned above. For Life, my partner and I will finish writing the tests and doing all the other things that aren’t coding, like documenting the code and fixing style. Also, I’ll work on my weekly homework and catch up to the current episode of Game of Thrones.

What was your experience in learning about inheritance?

As inheritance isn’t C++ specific, I don’t think the basic concepts were too hard to understand as we’ve covered it in the past in 312 and 314. The only things that were new were inline functions and the virtual keyword, which I didn’t find hard to understand either. The HackerRank exercises helped me get used to the C++ syntax for inheritance as I’m used to Java.

What’s your pick-of-the-week or tip-of-the-week?

My pick-of-the-week is Fetch in JavaScript. I’ve found that many people still use XMLHttpRequest when making HTTP requests in JavaScript code for websites, so I wanted to let people know about Fetch. Fetch is a lot easier to use than XMLHttpRequest and has more features, so I recommend people to use it instead of XMLHttpRequest when making HTTP requests in client-side JavaScript.

--

--