Abhishek Nandy
5 min readOct 2, 2022

My experience for 1st International Summit 2022:” oneAPI DevSummit South East Asia ”

Introduction

Here I share my experience about getting selected for oneAPI DevSummit South East Asia 2022 which was held virtually on September 15th, 2022, and mine was a lightning talk of 20 mins. The application for the abstract was my work which I am doing with Genetics and AI. By the way, I am a self-learning Developer and researcher who is trying to explore things and new technologies in my own way.

I am very much inclined towards genetics specifically Single Cell RNA analysis.My interest areas are:

Spatial Data

Sparse Matrix

Image Container

Cell Analysis and mutation

Understanding Single Cell datasets such as Anndata

Study of 3-dimensional and also 2-dimensional information laying the foundation for comprehensive molecular importance of tissues and organs with AI.

Understanding Cell Structures using Python libraries such as Scikit Image, Napari, and Dask.

My obvious language of choice for coding is python but with a grip on how huge datasets are organized and also targeting different devices for high-performance computing, I am exploring oneAPI toolkit.

The base language of oneAPI as a whole is C++ on top of implementation regarding parallelism which extends to DPC++.

The general abstraction of DPC++ is SYCL.SYCL is a language of choice for different device utilization across different architectures and can be easily connected or migrated to one form or another.

Some ways of conversion of Code

CUDA to SYCL
SYCLomatic

hipSYCL

hipSYCL is a modern SYCL implementation targeting CPUs and GPUs, with a focus on leveraging existing toolchains such as CUDA or HIP. hipSYCL currently targets the following devices:

  • Any CPU via OpenMP
  • NVIDIA GPUs via CUDA
  • using clang’s CUDA toolchain
  • as a library for NVIDIA’s nvc++ compiler (experimental)
  • AMD GPUs via HIP/ROCm
  • Intel GPUs via oneAPI Level Zero and SPIR-V (highly experimental and WIP!)

I am also contributing to SYCL ecosystem with my work and have contributed to oneAPI SRC inside oneAPI SPEC

My github profile name is Abhilegend

I am also an Intel Certified Instructor

It gives me immense happiness that I can learn contribute and show my expertise in open source much oriented towards oneAPI>

My abstract for oneAPI DevSummit South East Asia 2022

My area of choice was SIngle Cell RNA analysis with AI and ML .I wanted to tell the story of exploring the visualization part of it.Hence,I wanted to do something in Intel Dev Cloud.

I decided to go with Intel oneAPI AI analytics toolkit where I could use Python as a language of choice.

I used Clustergrammer2 ported to Intel oneAPI AI Analytics toolkit.

The ideas was to accumulate data inside Intel Dev Cloud and also to do visualization within it.

Within Intel Devcloud
The visualization part

Results:-

Finally,it came in that my abstract was selected for the summit and I was overjoyed that my focus on oneAPI started reaping fruits.

Thats the power of open source and also staying attached with Intel while exploring new technolgies from them.Intel has been highly rewarding for me since 2012 when I was first selected for Intel App Innovation Challenge.I am proud to say that I am part of a special group of contributors,influencers,developers known as Intel Software Innovator

I shared my use case on oneAPI with industry led people and eager audience.

I would like to give lot of thanks to APAC team especially Kavita and Sachin for giving me the required impetus when required.These are the small token of appreciation I got from my talk.

This is certainly “Love”
The surprise box
The gift

Thanks for reading .Please follow my work more to share in the next blog

Here is the recording of my talk.

Here is the link to my project.

Here are all the talks.

Till next post see you.

Abhishek Nandy

Chief Data Scientist PrediQt |Intel Certified oneAPI Instructor|Thinker|Innovator