Reading resolution for 2018

Abid Uzair
2 min readDec 24, 2017

--

I plan to read 24 books this year from different genres including Fantasy, YA and Romance.

  1. Comic science fiction Series : The Ultimate Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy by Douglas Adams (#5 Novels) (1 out of 5)✔️
  2. Travel: On the Road by Jack Kerouac ❌
  3. Fantasy, YA: Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone by J.K Rowling ✔️
  4. Magic Realism: Midnight’s Children by Salman Rushdie ❌
  5. Thriller: Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn
  6. Mystery, Crime, Psychological thriller: And Then There Were None by Agatha Christie ❌
  7. Historical Fiction, Satire: Catch-22 by Joseph Heller
  8. Picaresque Fiction: The White Tiger by Aravind Adiga
  9. Allegory, YA, Speculative and Psychological Fiction: Lord Of The Flies by William Golding
  10. Comedy, YA: Diary of a Wimpy Kid by Jeff Kinney ✔️
  11. Humor, Satire, Science and Speculative fiction: Cat’s Cradle by Kurt Vonnegut ❌
  12. Romance: The Sun Is Also A Star by Nicola Yoon
  13. Family Drama: A Hundred Little Flames by Preeti Shenoy ✔️
  14. Classic, Utopian and Dystopian fiction, Political fiction: Nineteen Eighty-Four by George Orwell
  15. Classic, Southern Gothic, Coming-of-Age Fiction: To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee
  16. Classic, Historical Fiction: The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald
  17. Popular Science: A Brief History of Time by Stephen Hawking
  18. Autobiography: Surely You’re Joking, Mr. Feynman! by Richard Feynman
  19. Philosophy, Popular science: Super intelligence: Paths, Dangers, Strategies by Nick Bostrom
  20. Non-fiction: Thinking Fast and Slow by Daniel Kahneman
  21. Memoir: Just Kids by Patti Smith ❌
  22. Self-help: How to Win Friends and Influence People by Dale Carnegie
  23. Horror, Satire, Black comedy: Haunted by Chuck Palahniuk
  24. Non-fiction: Sapiens: A Brief History of Humankind by Yuval Harari ✔️

I am tempted to add another 5 books that I may possibly end up reading. Or may be not! (depends 😜)

  1. Mystery, Conspiracy fiction, Thriller: Inferno by Dan Brown
  2. Business, Politics & Government: Zero to One by Peter Thiel and Blake Masters
  3. Autobiography: The Story of My Experiments with Truth by Mahatma Gandhi
  4. Detective fiction, Mystery: The No. 1 Ladies’ Detective Agency by Alexander McCall Smith
  5. Fantasy Fiction, Humor, Children’s literature: Matilda by Roald Dahl

Going by the above list, I should be able to finish at least two books per month. I feel a bit of guiltiness that I have not included many business/non-fiction related books which originally drove my interest towards reading.

I hope I make time for reading everyday. Tell me what you’re reading for 2018!😄

Also check out my article on books I read in 2017

Building a small library for my family

--

--

Abid Uzair

Currently empowering the person closest to me. Long term plan is to bend the universe for good. Kinda like changing the world one person at a time.