Computer to Instagram: Uploading Images

Aaron Brumbelow
3 min readOct 3, 2015

--

I tried a number of methods to post images to Instagram with photographs I prepared on my computer. The best method I found is using DropBox for my iOS devices.

Install DropBox on the desktop and install both DropBox and Instagram on the mobile device of choice.

Create a new folder in the DropBox folder. I named my ‘Instagram Upload’.

Put the 9 files into the folder and let them sync.

Go to the mobile device and open the DropBox app. All the files should be synced. Now download the images to the iOS device.

The iPhone or iPad will make a new album called DropBox.

Instagram allows choosing a specific album to select images for upload. Click the drop down menu and choose DropBox. The images for the grid should be inside.

Start uploading with the last image in the overall photo grid, moving toward the first, right to left.

Depending on the chosen Photoshop method the images will appear out of order. Make sure the images are lining up by going to the profile page every three images.

I always double check if the images are lining up correctly every third image I upload by going to my profile in Instagram.

Tagging can really improve the rate of engagement on Instagram. Be sure to tag descriptions like: Location. Type of photograph; landscape, still life, portrait. Type of Camera; make and model.

After typing the tags, be sure to copy them. Then paste the tags into the other images when uploading.

Looking for the best ways to cut up an image and get them ready for Instagram? I have written about two different methods.

Photo Grid for Instagram with Photoshop CC 2015: Part 1

Photo Grid for Instagram with Photoshop CC 2015: Part 2

--

--