Could Any Other Animal Become as Intelligent as Humans?

And other morning musings from my hotel room in Chicago…

Adrienne Grimes
6 min readAug 1, 2021
Photo by Eugene Zhyvchik on Unsplash

At this current moment, I’m participating in a 10-minute writing sprint. (They’re part of Ninja Writers and done every morning. You can check them out here.)

I had every intention of opening up my fiction work in progress and working on that. I even went as far as opening up Google so I could get to my Google Doc.

That’s when I saw it. Google’s image of the day — a celebration of the Turkana Human.

Image source: Screenshot by author from Google.com

After further investigation, I was hit with a burning question:

Is there another species out there in this big wide world that has the potential of evolving into human-level intelligence?

It’s 9am here. Clearly, I’ve woken up with an overactive brain, but that’s neither here nor there.

Here’s what I’ve learned about Turkana Humans in the last 10 minutes.

Thank God for Wikipedia!

--

--

Adrienne Grimes

A writer and a reader of all the things. Follow her on Instagram @bookaweekproject and catch her social media and branding classes in the Ninja Writers Guild.