Static Analysis With Mobile Security Framework (MobSF) Part-1

Ab Wahab 5095
3 min readSep 25, 2022

--

This is an awesome framework for analyzing mobile applications.
In this blog, we are going to learn how to do application analysis by using this framework.
But before continuing forward if you haven't read my previous blog then I would suggest you to read that first because it may help you get more knowledge, this is the link for that blog…

Beauty of this framework is that it is used for both Static and Dynamic Analysis.

Now let’s see how to work with this tool.

First, you need to clone the GitHub repository on your machine (That’s a very easy process).

Step-1:

Run this command in your terminal to clone the repo.

git clone https://github.com/MobSF/Mobile-Security-Framework-MobSF.git

Step-2:

That should take some time for downloading. After this, you just need to move into the directory that contains all the files of cloning.

Run this command to move into the directory.
cd Mobile-Security-Framework-MobSF

Step-3:

Just run this command to complete the installation of this framework.

Run this command after moving into the directory of this framework.
sudo chmod +x *

Step-4:

Now run this command.
./setup.sh

Now you are ready to use this framework (if everything goes well then of course).

To run this framework just run this command.
./run.sh

Now you would see something like this on the console

Screenshot of running ./run.sh command

By opening the link given in your terminal, in your browser you would see something like this….

I normally upload and analyze the apk file. It will take some time for finishing up and after that, it will show you some results for the Static analysis of this apk.
It will show a lot of information about the apk you upload, so you better get your hands dirty on this tool!

Wait for my new blog in which I would be teaching you some awesome stuff about this tool and we will also be learning about Dynamic Analysis of apk’s here…

Support me by ‘Buying Me A Coffee’. Just Click the below Button and follow the link. Your Support will help and encourage me.

buy me a coffee
Click this button to support me

Hope so you liked this blog…

If you do, follow me on my Social Media Accounts. This will encourage me further.
You can get in touch with me on Social Media by using these links below…

My Facebook Profile: click here
My Instagram Profile:
click here

See You Soon!

Good Bye.

--

--

Ab Wahab 5095

Tech enthusiast and cybersecurity Researcher here. I really like sharing my findings with others. Follow Me For more Learning and staying Up to-Date