Digital artists MEMCXI’s “GAME OVER” artwork is on the ACCA auction.

--

𝘼𝘾𝘾𝘼© — Computer art Auction House ©

DANCING IN HELL

MEMCXI is an Australian-based Artist. Newly emerging within the art scene, MEMCXI has attracted attention through her bold and satirical approach to often complex and taboo discussions surrounding sexuality, spirituality, and religion. Seeking to blend the polarities of darkness and light, MEMCXI does not shy from a controversial approach, making her work polarising yet impactful.

GAME OVER

MEMCXI artwork “GAME OVER” is described as:

Game well played. Ghosts of the past. A path to hell. Paved breaking hearts.

“GAME OVER” was featured in the second ACCA “Digital Nostalgia” Auction. The artwork is on display at the ACCA Auction House and the Gallery.

➤ Can you share the inspiration and messages behind your artwork “GAME OVER” featured in the Digital Nostalgia Auction?

The OG collection of my work was centered heavily around a debate of morality, the seemingly endless fight between good and evil. Conceptually, I’ve always aspired to include this duality within my work. As a fan of Carl Jung, the idea of the collective shadow fascinates me, and I’ve used these themes within my work in order to provoke the question as to where we truly reside on the spectrum of positive and negative, from both a personal and a collective standpoint. Individually we all contain positive and negative attributes, and I like to use my work as a mirror, not only for myself as much of my own personal experience is interjected into my work but also for others to gain a sense of deeper understanding and perception of their own sense of virtue.
I felt GAME OVER was the perfect way to symbolically not only end a personal artistic era by using the piece to reiterate and illustrate the themes prevalent throughout my OG collection of work but also to serve as a personal metaphorical ‘death’ as I transition into a different phase as an artist.

➤ Your art explores complex and taboo discussions surrounding sexuality, spirituality, and religion. How do you navigate the fine line between controversy and impact in your work?

The inner knowing that I am moving with sincere intentions has allowed me to walk that fine line. I do push the boundaries, however, I also have my limits and always move with complete integrity. MEMCXI is an artistic performance in and of itself, so remaining detached from how the work is perceived publicly has been crucial for me to continue sharing. I understand controversial views will always have a polarizing effect, so any ‘negative’ perception of my work I tend to welcome — as it is the intention.
I can’t poke the bear and not expect to get bitten every now and then. However, I believe some of the more ‘negative’ reactions only add depth to my overall concept. Helping mirror and highlight not only my ‘darkness’ as the artist but also the ‘darkness’ of others. We are constantly projecting our own internal sense of virtue and morality onto each other without looking deeply at our own inadequacies and my work provides the space for people to honestly reflect on this.

➤ As a newly emerging artist, how has your journey been within the art scene, and what challenges have you faced?

I feel the biggest challenge has been remaining grounded within the purpose of my art and why I choose to create. As it pertains to the art scene, many of us are quite active on social media for marketing and networking purposes, making it incredibly easy to get lost in the sauce at the expense of our own authenticity. Maintaining that sense of truth within myself has been quite a challenge as my art has begun to be seen by more people. Criticism is a natural byproduct of anyone pursuing art seriously, and not allowing that to influence your moves, words, and actions as an artist can be quite difficult. Expression through art requires vulnerability, and when that is not received as intended, remaining detached can be difficult. I tend to remind myself that once the art is public, it is no longer mine. I try not to get too overwhelmed by my own ego and move on to the next idea.

SMILEY FACE

➤ How has working with NFTs influenced your approach to art, and what possibilities or challenges do you see in the intersection of traditional art and the NFT space?

The NFT space hasn’t necessarily influenced much of how I approach the art itself. Though the tech has provided the potential for me to generate income from my work, I don’t create on the basis of turning all my work into an NFT. I was creating art long before I knew about this tech. Although, it would be ignorant to disregard the amazing potential NFT’s offer not only artists but creators in general. The internet is a fundamental tool for modernized living, society relies on it heavily. Just look back on the last two decades, and you’ll see how intertwined humans and machines have become within this new digital age. There will always be traditionalists who reject the new, so I feel the debate surrounding digital art and its legitimacy will always be prevalent within online spaces. I myself can’t ignore the charm and joy of experiencing physical art in the real world — however, if you remain open-minded, I believe the blend of traditional art and this fast-growing technology will birth many new exciting works that we don’t hold the capacity to quite envision at this moment.

➤ Your approach blends the polarities of darkness and light. How does this duality play into the conceptualization and creation of your art?

I blend the polarities through my execution of the work. Conceptually the work may touch on themes that may incite an initial ‘negative’ response within the audience, however through the use of satire, color selection, title, etc… I am able to soften the intense nature of the concept into a form that’s palatable and less aggressive for the audience. Sure, people may still dislike the work from an aesthetic standpoint, but the conceptual vision remains the same, as you will see by looking at the body of my work as a whole. Hopefully, this underlying tone inspires thought and conversation.

_ctrl_alt_del.jpg

➤ How does being based in Australia influence or shape your artistic perspective?

Australian culture is such a blended hybrid of many. We are such a diverse country, so I feel the sense of deep-rooted tradition that you often see in many European countries isn’t as prevalent here. From an artistic point of view I feel that has been beneficial for me as it allows me to step over boundaries others may not dare due to this sense of tradition entrenched within their culture. Especially as it pertains to religion. Although I went to a Catholic school, I’ve never been overly involved with the church, so I talk openly and bring awareness to the contradictions and hypocrisies without any real fear of backlash or condemnation.

➤ What role do you see your art playing in sparking discussions and challenging societal norms?

I see myself as the provocateur. I want my work to arouse emotion, be that positive or negative, any response creates the foundation for meaningful discussion and invites us to dive deeper into how we see ourselves at a core level. This authentic reflection confronts us with our own ‘darkness’ as opposed to constantly seeking an outside ‘enemy’ to blame for all our personal shortcomings (micro level) or societal shortcomings (macro level). Humans are complex creatures from varying backgrounds, with diverse and unique life experiences. I use symbology within my work that I know will provoke the idea that MEMCXI is ‘evil’. However, we must be cautious of the judgments we place upon others. Had we existed in a different time — I’d most likely be burnt alive for my art.

THE OTHERSIDE

➤ What are your plans and aspirations as an artist as we approach the new year?

As the year ends, I’ve been taking this time to reflect on my work and all the lessons I’ve learned throughout the process of creation. Moving into the new year, I feel I will begin to experiment with more traditional mediums. Digital art can be quite fast-paced, and I would like to slow things down and take a more relaxed approach to creation in 2024. The meditative state that traditional mediums tend to evoke is something I’m seeking as I move forward, the perfect contrast to the seemingly chaotic nature of my OG collection.

➤ Are there any upcoming projects or themes you’re excited to explore in your future artwork?

My best ideas seem to arise spontaneously, so I tend not to get too caught up in projecting myself too far into the future. Conceptually I do feel my muse of ‘duality’ provides an abundance of potential exploration. However, I’ve grown a little bored of the narrative and would enjoy opening myself to expand beyond these themes. As to what these themes may be, right now, I am unsure.

Interviewer — YNKAdigital

AuctionX — ACCA

Artist — X — @memcxi
𝘼𝘾𝘾𝘼© — Computer Art Auction House ©

--

--