Duolingo: An Adult Learning Game

Athena Dunn
4 min readMar 9, 2018

--

Despite the seven years of French class that I completed in school, my vocabulary has already diminished back into “bonjour” and “je m’appelle Athena”.

Source: Giphy

I have always envied bilingual people and desired to be as cool as them, but growing up with a purely English-speaking family in a dominantly English-speaking city meant French class was the only time where I was expected to use another language. But I was never great at remembering the new and different grammar and vocabulary. I would always try translating sentences to and from English in my head as opposed to really immersing myself in the language. My lack of language-speaking abilities is really my own fault though, because there are many accessible ways to learn a new language; classes to sign up for, videos on Youtube, friends. An increasingly popular resource for learning a new language has been Duolingo; an app that offers free language lessons to over 120 million registered users worldwide and is represented by a happy green owl.

Source: Wikipedia

It has been over three years since I have even tried to learn a new language, so I am interested to see if this platform’s popularity might mean it has discovered a new way to teach a language in a way that is immersive, memorable and easy to stick to. However, I’m going to take a break from French and try using Duolingo to learn some basic Greek, which has been a goal of mine since I was young because I’ve always wanted by language abilities to match my first name.

After the fast process of making an account and choosing from the many language options, I can immediately see the appeal of this app as it is displayed more like a game than an educational resource. The profile page is very colourful, with achievements to unlock and little images that represent all the “levels” to reach in the learning process.

Source: Duolingo
Source: Duolingo

Much like most addictive apps, Duolingo focuses on fast clicks, visuals, and reaching easily achievable goals. In fact, they suggest a daily use time of only ten minutes, which is very doable for anyone with a busy schedule who desires to learn a new language in their free time. The basic lessons I worked through simply consisted of dragging words into place to translate Greek words and sentences that were read to me by a computer voice.

Source: Duolingo

Maybe it’s because I chose a language with a different alphabet, but I found I was mostly just guessing. I don’t know if there was some kind of subconscious learning that was happening or I was just choosing the most logical answer based on the given words because I was, surprisingly, getting most of them right. It is quite repetitive though, which is definitely an important aspect of learning something new. I also do get the urge to return to the app to progress to the next level and see what I can learn next.

I think there is still a little bit of room for improvement as the computer voice that pronounces all of the words and phrases is a little unappealing. I felt like hearing the words read to me was one of the more important aspects of the learning experience because I am not reading them out myself, so the monotone/blank, sometimes choppy-sounding voice threw me off a bit. Similarly, the sentences provided for me to translate sometimes seem very obviously randomly generated. None of them are ever completely ridiculous, or incorrect, just not very useful to know as a beginner.

I think the platform’s game-like design and function could be applied in many ways to create other educational apps. The focus on a fast-pace, colour, and easily achievable goals that anyone can access on their phone while they’re sitting around for ten minutes or less is a useful set of traits for a modern app. Subjects such as history, reading music, and mental math could be taught in a similar way with more suitable questions, while maintaining the fast and easy design that is so appealing and accessible.

Overall, Duolingo does offer a new way to learn using the aspects of an app that makes it easy, fast, and generally addicting. It is a learning game for adults, and I can see why millions of people have tried, if not stuck to it in order to use their free minutes to work towards acquiring a new skill.

Source: Imgur

--

--