My site went viral on Reddit last month and I had no idea šŸ¤¦

Sakun
4 min readApr 13, 2020

--

Well technically itā€™s not my site anymore, but I built it and ran it for the past 8 months or so. Hereā€™s the backstory:

Backstory

About 9 months ago on July 4th, 2019, I made my first ever post on ProductHunt ā€” ReadShitFaster, which was a speed-reading web-app ā€” and you could probably tell that by its name šŸ˜‰.

I check back a few hours later ā€” only a couple upvotes, I really didnā€™t think much was going to come out of it, especially since there were other sites like it, so I went to bed.

I woke up the next morning and it was featured and in the #5 spot, eventually working its way up to the #2 spot throughout the day (and now has nearly 500 upvotes)! I saw it being shared around on Twitter & Facebook ā€” even a few technology websites like Lifehacker & Gizmodo picked up on it which was crazy!

All in all it had gathered about 10k unique visitors that day alone ā€” not too shabby for only a few hours of work šŸ™‚ I later released a Chrome extension for it and added keyboard strokes, but that was really about all I felt like doing. So I left it at that.

Over the next few months, it started to die down (as expected), but would still get anywhere from 10ā€“200 unique users on any given day.

Now that youā€™re up to speed ā€”

Someone had reached out to me a couple weeks ago asking to buy the site off of me. I didnā€™t really care to update it or add any more features as I wasnā€™t generating any sort of income off of it (not that it was even the point), but I still did want to keep it online for the hundred or so people that continued to use it regularly. Iā€™ve never felt compelled enough to sell anything Iā€™ve ever made, yet I stupidly agreed on impulse here namely because I wouldnā€™t have to continue paying to keep it online with no return.

However, I still had access to the siteā€™s analytics so I randomly decided to check it out today and saw thisā€¦šŸ˜®

I figured that somebody with a large following mustā€™ve just shared it somewhere, but luckily I had also been tracking stats through Google Analytics and did a bit of digging and was eventually able to figure out where exactly all this traffic came from: this Reddit post garnering almost 9k upvotes!

To this day, I still donā€™t really know why people use it knowing that there are superb alternatives out there. I guess people were just attached to the name over the app itself šŸ¤·ā€ā™‚ šŸ˜‚.

If I sound a bit salty, itā€™s because I am. Iā€™ve never had much luck on Reddit myself, but itā€™s amazing to see how much a single reddit post can do and how much fuel it can add to a dying fire.

But Iā€™m not mad about any of this at all either ā€” Iā€™m just super stoked knowing that over 100,000 people from around the world have used a site that I just made for fun out of boredom.

I do have my regrets though. Thereā€™s a couple things that I wish I had done differently: 1) acknowledge the full potential that this had as a service and 2) figure out how to effectively monetize it without jeopardizing its existing user-base. It just never felt right in my mind to charge people for anything Iā€™ve built as Iā€™ve developed this weird mentality that ā€œmoney is the root of all evilā€ and vowed to make anything I build available for free. But Iā€™ve come to realize that ā€œfreeā€ doesnā€™t pay the bills, money does šŸ˜‰

I also still get frequent DMs on Twitter/Reddit asking for ā€œxyzā€ features. Iā€™m pretty tempted to make a better and even more practical version now considering that Iā€™ve got a lot of time on my hands and receiving kind messages like these are pretty motivating šŸ˜ƒ

But regardless, if thereā€™s anything Iā€™ve learned today, itā€™s that you should never be shortsighted and let go of your project if it still has some sort of potential (and even if youā€™re bored of it). I learned that the hard way.

And donā€™t rub salt on the wound like this guy šŸ˜­

Cheers,

Feel free to check out other projects that Iā€™m currently working on.

--

--