This Generation will be fine: We have Balloon

Pika Chiu
3 min readJul 27, 2017

Annyeonghaseyo. My name is Amy and I am a summer intern here at Balloon, a next-gen social media app. You might all be wondering what makes Balloon interesting and why you should download the app.

Background

You all might be wondering why I chose to intern at Balloon. I have always been interested in entrepreneurship and when I had an opportunity to intern for Balloon through Ladders for Leaders program, I decided to take the opportunity to get involved with a start-up company from the ground up. It was a whole new experience for me. First, the interview was no ordinary interview. The interview involved technology and we talked over FaceTime. It was quite a daunting experience. We talked about Balloon and most importantly, I learned about startups and about having an entrepreneurial mentality.

The most important advice I received is that if you have an idea and you want it to come to fruition, you have to put work into it and make it come to life. Nothing will happen if you do not try and start somewhere.

So what is Balloon Stories?

It is a new social media platform, where creators can collaborate with friends and family on any topic for discussion.

What is a balloon?

Balloon is essentially a topic or a hashtag — a topic of discussion. It’s similar to Facebook pages or Facebook groups in that you can create a balloon or page for anything. For example, I created a balloon on the app called “Art in New York City ” (shameless plug). I added another intern to the balloon and we post together in the balloon of cool art we find around NYC. These posts can be pictures, videos, links or even just texts.

What are the benefits of Balloon?

You are all probably wondering what are the benefits of Balloon? What makes Balloon different from other social media apps? When I introduce this app to my friends they are all wondering why should I download the app and what is the purpose?

By organizing all of your posts into balloons, there are a few powerful things it can do that no other social media apps can do. One thing I really enjoy about Balloon is the organization and how easily I can navigate around the app. It is not as cluttered like other social media platforms. You are in control of what you want to view and who or what topics you want to follow. I know personally that they are a lot of friends that spam your news feed on Facebook and on Instagram. I am pretty sure you love your friends but sometimes they are just too much. A great way of using Balloon is that you can still follow your friends but you can unfollow any balloons you are not interested in seeing. I find that to be a very convenient and powerful feature because you will still see posts from balloon topics you are interested in seeing and thus an uncluttered newsfeed.

Download Balloon Stories exclusively on the App Store today and start creating your balloons.

Check out the Balloon Website here.

--

--

Pika Chiu

Passionate about social media and entrepreneurship @ Balloon Stories