My Data Science Journey: Myths, Truths, Motivation and Getting Started

Ackon Richard
5 min readDec 9, 2017

--

Before I found my feet in data science I read a lot of articles on how to become a data scientist, most of them written by ‘experts’ in the field. Some helped and others didn’t, but what I always wanted to read was how a beginner would describe his/her process of becoming a data scientist. This series is a documentation of my journey into data science and my little advice on how you can do it too. Every part will cover the process leading to a major milestone, say my first product, first job and the lesson learned.

So before I continue I think it’s only fair that I introduce myself and also add a little context to it, just to personalize our conversation a little.

I’m a 22-year old from Ghana, West Africa teaching myself data science. I started learning about 7-months ago. Before that I had completed my degree in computer engineering with average grades.

I wasted the first three years of college life on video games and movies. I did just enough to pass my exams. I justified my actions in my head at the time but they were all excuses. In the summer vacation before my final year I went through a personal development programme and that changed my life. I decided to pick myself up and make something of myself. I heard about data science during that time and I read more about it when I was working on my final year project (Number plate recognition software).

I have come a long way from where I started. I have taught myself the necessary tools, learnt the processes, algorithms. I have completed courses on coursera in way less time than expected (two certificates in 5days) and I just entered my first kaggle competition.

Now that we know each other, lets get into the main reason why we are here. Becoming a data scientist is no joke, no career is, but it doesn’t mean you can’t do it either. With a enough determination and commitment you can get up running in no time. I will go through some of the myths, truths and lessons I’ve learnt on my very short journey to becoming a data scientist.

Myths

Photo by Steven Geringer Raleigh, NC.

1. The perfect data sciencist

The image above is mostly used to describe data science and the idea is that a person must possess all the skills in the Venn diagram to be considered a data scientist.

This is the biggest myth of all. As you can see, data science is a broad field and it takes individuals with complementary skills to work as a team to deliver a project. Of course there are cases where people possess all of the these skills but that is the exception.

2. You are not smart enough

Before I got comfortable in my ability to become a data scientist, this was one of the things that kept me awake. The feeling that you are not smart enough to become a data scientist. This mostly follows when you accept that you have to know all the skills in the Venn diagram first.

I’m telling today that, it’s just a myth. Anyone with average intelligence can become a data scientist. Maybe it’ll take you more effort than others but you will get there. Everybody starts from zero. If you are determined and you continue learning, you will see progress, no matter how small. This brings me to the

Truths

“You want to know how to paint a perfect painting? It’s easy. Make yourself perfect and then just paint naturally.”

Robert M. Pirsig

The truth is anyone can become a data scientist if they work hard at it. But like the quote says, to know how to paint a perfect painting, in this case, to be become a very good data scientist, you have to make you very good.

What do I mean. Learning data science can be challenging. The kind of commitment that it takes to learn on your own or even go through a bootcamp is intense. So before you start on you own journey, work on yourself. Do some soul searching and make sure that is what you want to do, then put measure in place to help you get there. Make a personal development plan, write down clear and concise goals, and make a plan achieve those goals.

Motivation

So my simple message for you is, maybe it seems like there is a lot of information out there that says you are not the ideal person to become a data scientist. Maybe your own doubts are preventing you from getting started. Unless that is really what you want, but if it is, then I’m telling you now that you can do it.

I know that because I’ve been there and I’ve been able to get through it. A lot of people have. You are not alone. Seek help when you feel stuck. Never stop asking questions until it’s clear. Talk to experienced data scientists, if you don’t know any, search on LinkedIn, it will amaze you how willing people are to help.

That is my message for you. If you’ve read to this point and you’re convinced you can and want to be a data scientist, I put together a few point for you on

How to get Started

  1. Figure out what kind of data scientist you want to become. I know people with titles like data analyst, machine learning engineer, data engineer. All these people are considered data scientists in their own right. So find exactly what data scientist you want to be and make a learning plan just for that.
  2. Set goals for yourself. Setting goals for yourself and achieving them helps you to track your progress. Achieving these goals no matter how small, gives you a sense of winning and you need to continue. Celebrate your wins.
  3. Gather quality learning materials. The internet is full of data science courses. After going through a lot of material I realized videos from Coursera and Udacity were very helpful. Of course you could also prefer something else.
  4. Just Start. I could go on and on about what to do and what not to do but another thing I learnt throughout this period is that, the best way to learn is to get your hands dirty. So go, go and get started, you’ll make mistakes but you’ll learn from it and grow.

Conclusion

I hope I have been able to clear up some things for you. It’s your turn to go make your own journey and help others do it too. I will very much like to get your feedback, your thoughts and suggestions since I’m still learning myself. Hope to see you at the top. Thank you.

--

--

Ackon Richard

I’m on a quest to become the best engineer I can be. That requires a lot of learning and forgetting. So this is my way of writing things down for reference.