Looking at “region” and “culture” in journalism

André Natta
2 min readNov 8, 2017

--

Is it easier to engage a region or a culture as we move forward in journalism?

Hello, everybody!

The research I’m doing for my JSK Journalism Fellowship is currently focused on audience engagement and its effects on regional journalism. While we often use terms like “region” and “culture” when describing how we approach “improving” journalism, we often do so without asking the very people we’re trying to categorize with them. I’m also not so sure we consider the audience as we approach producing journalism in the first place (though that was the point of another post I wrote earlier this year).

I’d appreciate receiving responses to the following questions either as a comment, a response below, or via email at acnatta@stanford.edu at your earliest convenience. Please indicate whether or not you’d be willing to discuss your answers in depth at a later date.

  • How do you personally define “region”?
  • How do you personally define “culture”?
  • Does region define culture or culture define region?

NOTE: I’m specifically looking for answers from non-journalists here in the beginning (though if responses are submitted by journalists, I’ll be following up with you shortly after the beginning of the New Year). Feel free to share this with your networks as well; the more answers, the better.

Thanks in advance for your answers and assistance and let me know if I can answer any questions you might have about this.

--

--

André Natta

I’m an urban conversationalist who enjoys exploring how we approach local news… and baseball games.