PATIENCE

Alan Campbell
2 min readNov 7, 2023

--

A poem that rises from my frustration with corporate greed and all that is the smothering blanket of the contracts involved to support their unbridled thirst for control and power. Frustrations being a creative and being asked to relent all of who you have grown be over the years if you sign on the line. Yes, is says “ your know-how” in the contract. Fuck them!

Longing for one of my happy places today@ACP2024

I’m not sure where my patience went.
Did I leave by the door?
Is it hiding in the closet, up on the second floor?
Did it slip behind the dresser
to hang out with my socks?
Is out amongst the yard tools
or in the old wood box?

My patience has abandoned me.
Red and rage I see
it has no logic, rhyme or reason
just a fury holding me.

Confusion seems to rule in moments such as thee.
So very hard to understand why it doesn’t hear my plea.
Let me find my patience wherever it might be,
place in my heart to soothe and settle me.

I dance among the tears, in waves they come today.
I will find my patience, wrap it up, so I might play.
Put anger in my little box and lock it up to stay.

I must be unique to all this mess…
No, I am not alone, I do confess.

I long to ease the throbbing pain,
and settle my chaotic din.
yet, I am merely human,
the master of my sin.

--

--

Alan Campbell

A story teller. I created images for others for years. I am finally opening my creativity on the flat plane. Join me. Curious what you'll find in my words.