The truth about your “organic” hair dye

That which we call a poison, by any other name…

A. C. Sterling
9 min readMar 16, 2020
Photo courtesy of Evelyn Bertrand, via Unsplash

I’ve come a long way with my naturally curly, 3c hair — from scraggly, rat-tail ends that were so damaged, they no longer curled, to healthy bouncing ringlets. It took me a lot of reading and reviewing old photos of myself to realize I needed to choose health over length.

Along this journey, I’ve also learned a thing or two about scalp health for better hair.

I’ve gone through the educational/transition-phase wringer while following a diverse crew of influencers from the natural community. I leaned toward the ones like Bianca Renee, who taught me about labels and which ingredients would make your hair feel amazing only to damage it later. From them, I also learned the alternative names companies use once consumers become wise and veer away from certain ingredients like silicone (you’ll find it also goes by dimethicone).

But for some reason, I never thought to check my hair dye label…

I guess in my mind, I knew it was bad, but I accepted it, because I had some grays to cover. I enrolled in one of those delivery services and touched up my roots every four to five weeks, because my hair grows quickly, even though it breaks easily.

--

--

A. C. Sterling

Represented author | Editor-in-chief | Award-winning journalist (California Newspaper Publishers Association, National Newspaper Association)