Six Steps to Receive an Internship on Wall Street as a Minority Student

DeAndre M. Brown
5 min readSep 20, 2020

--

Photo by lo lo on Unsplash

My journey to Wall Street was not simple at all. I received several rejections and lost my motivation several times throughout the journey. Having mentors who believed in me, fueled my consistency throughout my search for internship opportunities.

I am writing this article for minority students in higher education who are struggling to receive Corporate Internships. My hope is that this article provides fuel and encouragement for you to continue to search for opportunities because YOU are needed in corporate spaces.

By taking the steps listed below, I not only recieved an internship on Wall Street but I entered into it highly prepared as well.

Step One: Create a LinkedIn

I personally look at this platform as a live business card. When I meet someone, I want to further connect with, I ask for their LinkedIn. This allows us to stay connected and provides a platform to communicate further.

LinkedIn is a great way to connect with other pre-professionals, professionals and is a space for future employers to get to know you more. This website allows you the opportunity to update your network with new roles you are stepping into; and allows you to make live updates on what is occurring in your pre-professional career.

Step Two: Have a Good Resume

DeAndre Brown Resume Template

It is important that your resume template is professional and consistent in order to easily engage your employers. Once you have a completed resume, it is important to have peers, mentors and family members look over it to ensure that there are no embarrassing mistakes.

For so long I thought having a professional resume was all I needed in order to receive an internship. However, a good resume is what gets you in the door (interview), but not what gets you in the office (job).

Step Three: Apply To Career Readiness Programs

This step plays a crucial role in receiving an internship. There are several Career Readiness Programs for minority students. I recommend that you ask the Department of Career Services or a trusted Professor at your University/College about certain Career Ready Programs so that you are not wasting time in programs that are not beneficial.

Personally, I became an affiliate of Seize Every Opportunity (SEO) Career. Through SEO Career, I received mentors, interview preparation, resume assistance and access to a network full of young minority professionals who were once in my (your) shoes. I also had the opportunity to connect with several other minority students from different universities who were searching for Corporate Internships as well.

Step Four: Attend Career Fairs

Photo by Hunters Race on Unsplash

Career Fairs are a great way for you to market yourself to employers. Look the part! If you feel good and comfortable in what you are wearing, you will leave a lasting impression. Career fairs usually have a lot of companies present, I recommend trying to speak to someone from as many tables as possible and having at least one question prepared for each table you visit.

Ask The Department of Career Services or a Professor about Career Fairs that are hosted by your University/College. If none are available, https://www.nationalcareerfairs.com has a list of career fairs and the areas in which they will be located.

Step Five: Apply & Attend Diversity Summits

A Diversity Summit is usually a three-day event held by corporations. Over the course of Summits, you learn a lot about the company, and you get the opportunity to form connections with people who currently work there. There are several types of diversity summits that companies offer. For example, Goldman Sachs offers four Summits: HBCU, Women’s, LGBT+ and Hispanic/Latinx. I recommend compiling a list of the top companies that you are interested in and researching different Summits that they offer.

After attending Summits, you should send Thank You Emails and LinkedIn invites to all the people you were able to connect with.

Step Six: Prepare For Interviews

As I mentioned in Step Two, your Resume gets you in the door, but not the job. The Interview is what determines whether or not you receive the position. This is why it is important that you prepare for your interview. If you are successful in Step Three, you should be prepared for your interview. However, it is still important that you practice with mentors, peers and family members.

S.T.A.R. Method is the most commonly used interview method in Corporate America. https://www.themuse.com/advice/30-behavioral-interview-questions-you-should-be-ready-to-answer provides a phenomenal list of interview questions that are most commonly asked during the interview process.

I recommend writing out your answers to all thirty interview questions using the S.T.A.R. Method, then practicing it aloud. After you feel confident in your answers, you should record them. Personally, I like to listen to my recordings the day before and the day of my interview.

After a year of hard work and determination, I was able to receive an internship on Wall Street utilizing these Six Steps. I believe that if you put in the work and meet the GPA Requirements for the position you are applying for, you too can receive a position or an internship on Wall Street.

Please feel free to email me at actorbrown@yahoo.com if you have any further questions about applying to internships on Wall Street.

--

--

DeAndre M. Brown

Senior Business Marketing Major with a Minor in Sales at Morehouse College