Aboubacar Sissoko’s interview

Soccer Canadien
6 min readDec 2, 2018

Aboubacar Sissoko, player drafted by Forge FC, in CPL, agreed to answer our questions.

First, congratulations again for being drafted by Forge FC (Hamilton).

Can you introduce yourself and explain your sporting background?

Aboubacar Sissoko:

I was born in Bamako, Mali on October 9th 1995. In 2006, I moved to Montreal because my father was a diplomat. I started playing football with my friends and my two brothers also played. In 2004, I joined a training ground in Mali in 2004 and in 2006 we took off here. Once I arrived here, , it was complicated because I did not know anyone. Then Somdo Keke met my brother and me and he brought us to play with Club de soccer Mont-Royal Outremont (CSMRO). I was also playing futsal with my high school team, collège internationale Marie de France. During a futsal match against another school, I met Rémi, who spoke to someone, François Bourgeais, who helped me a lot in my progress and so I joined the club de soccer de Longueuil where I had a lot of succes and gained experience. I also made a trial at Lorient, France but signing me would have caused a lot of expense that they could not afford to do.

Later, i’ve played with my U-20 national team and it was such a great experience for me. Lately, my arrival at the Carabins crowned it all so that I am the player that I am today.

Congratualtions for the U-Sport title, how was the weekend of the final?

Aboubacar Sissoko:

The weekend of the final was quiet, we had a day off before the final so we all did what we had to do in order to be ready to play this great game. There are players who have been touring the city, others have been eating sushi, because Vancouver is known to have good sushi restaurants, others have stayed in care with physiotherapists. Basically, we did what was necessary, not to think too much about the stress of this game. We just enjoyed the city and the day of the match, we came to win because last year we lost against the same team.

The Canadian Premier League (CPL) will launch its inaugural season on April 2019, what do you know about this league and what do you think about it?

Aboubacar Sissoko:

The league will start soon, we’ll see what will happen. I don’t know that much about the league but I know it’s a great opportunity for the young talent here Especially in Montreal, there are very great players who do not have the chance to play with the Montreal Impact, so CPL would be good for those players.

How did you learn that you were drafted by Forge FC and what was your first reaction?

Aboubacar Sissoko:

When I learned that Forge FC selected me, because before arriving here I worked a lot, I was also criticized by some people and I never gave up. So I’m going to do my best to satisfy FC Forge as much as possible, give them back the trust they had in me, choose me from the other great players who were also on the draft list.

What are your sports ambitions for 2019?

Aboubacar Sissoko:

My sporting ambitions are:

· I have to go with Forge FC first and try to get a contract.

· Afterwards, with the team, to achieve beautiful things during this first season of the CPL.

· Work daily to progress day by day.

· Honoring the Université de Montréal, because in the roster, several players deserve to be at my place.

Alexander Bunbury, a former Canadian glory, announced that he is working on the creation of a team in Laval, a suburb of Montreal, for 2020, what do you think about it? Would you like to have the chance to play in the Montreal area one day?

Aboubacar Sissoko:

The creation of a new team in Montreal would be a good thing. As far as I’m concerned, it’s been a long time since I live in Montreal and it’s become my city. But I don’t think that much about playing here because I must first impose myself with Forge FC and in football you never know what can happen.

Aboubacar Sissoko, player drafted by Forge FC, in CPL, agreed to answer our questions.

First, congratulations again for being drafted by Forge FC (Hamilton).

Can you introduce yourself and explain your sporting background?

Aboubacar Sissoko:

I was born in Bamako, Mali on October 9th 1995. In 2006, I moved to Montreal because my father was a diplomat. I started playing football with my friends and my two brothers also played. In 2004, I joined a training ground in Mali in 2004 and in 2006 we took off here. Once I arrived here, , it was complicated because I did not know anyone. Then Somdo Keke met my brother and me and he brought us to play with Club de soccer Mont-Royal Outremont (CSMRO). I was also playing futsal with my high school team, collège internationale Marie de France. During a futsal match against another school, I met Rémi, who spoke to someone, François Bourgeais, who helped me a lot in my progress and so I joined the club de soccer de Longueuil where I had a lot of succes and gained experience. I also made a trial at Lorient, France but signing me would have caused a lot of expense that they could not afford to do.

Later, i’ve played with my U-20 national team and it was such a great experience for me. Lately, my arrival at the Carabins crowned it all so that I am the player that I am today.

Congratualtions for the U-Sport title, how was the weekend of the final?

Aboubacar Sissoko:

The weekend of the final was quiet, we had a day off before the final so we all did what we had to do in order to be ready to play this great game. There are players who have been touring the city, others have been eating sushi, because Vancouver is known to have good sushi restaurants, others have stayed in care with physiotherapists. Basically, we did what was necessary, not to think too much about the stress of this game. We just enjoyed the city and the day of the match, we came to win because last year we lost against the same team.

The Canadian Premier League (CPL) will launch its inaugural season on April 2019, what do you know about this league and what do you think about it?

Aboubacar Sissoko:

The league will start soon, we’ll see what will happen. I don’t know that much about the league but I know it’s a great opportunity for the young talent here Especially in Montreal, there are very great players who do not have the chance to play with the Montreal Impact, so CPL would be good for those players.

How did you learn that you were drafted by Forge FC and what was your first reaction?

Aboubacar Sissoko:

When I learned that Forge FC selected me, because before arriving here I worked a lot, I was also criticized by some people and I never gave up. So I’m going to do my best to satisfy FC Forge as much as possible, give them back the trust they had in me, choose me from the other great players who were also on the draft list.

What are your sports ambitions for 2019?

Aboubacar Sissoko:

My sporting ambitions are:

· I have to go with Forge FC first and try to get a contract.

· Afterwards, with the team, to achieve beautiful things during this first season of the CPL.

· Work daily to progress day by day.

· Honoring the Université de Montréal, because in the roster, several players deserve to be at my place.

Alexander Bunbury, a former Canadian glory, announced that he is working on the creation of a team in Laval, a suburb of Montreal, for 2020, what do you think about it? Would you like to have the chance to play in the Montreal area one day?

Aboubacar Sissoko:

The creation of a new team in Montreal would be a good thing. As far as I’m concerned, it’s been a long time since I live in Montreal and it’s become my city. But I don’t think that much about playing here because I must first impose myself with Forge FC and in football you never know what can happen.

--

--