André Bona’s interview

Soccer Canadien
5 min readDec 7, 2018

André Bona, an UQÀM Citadins player recruited by HFX Wanderers, agreed to answer our questions.

First of all, congratulations again for being drafted by the HFX Wanderers (Halifax). Can you introduce yourself and explain your sporting background?

André Bona:

I am 28 years old, I am French, born in Marseille.

I am at the end of a Master’s degree in Environmental Sciences at UQÀM.

I started playing in a club at the age of 5 in a local club, the Afro-Antillais, where the atmosphere was very warm. I then moved to S.O. Caillolais, a club very well known in Marseille for its quality of training and which has included in its ranks several future professional players of renown such as Eric Cantona, Peter Luccin, Jean Tigana.

I then joined the Olympique de Marseille training centre at the age of 13, where I learned the rigour, discipline and requirements of top-level sport. Unfortunately, the adventure was not conclusive and I decided to take a step back with football without stopping the sport.

Being endowed with my good physical qualities, I wanted to exploit this potential. So I practiced athletics for 6 years, my specialty was sprinting: 60m — 100m — 200m. I reached the national level with a record in the 100m at 10.80s.

After that period, I wanted to return to football because I had a feeling of unfinished business. I only played one season as a Senior Amateur but I received several requests from National 2 and 3 clubs (4th and 5th French divisions) at the end of the season.

I did not respond favourably to it because at that time, the opportunity to study in Canada was given.

At UQÀM, I participated in a trial and quickly joined the university team. Shortly afterwards, I took my first steps in PLSQ with the CS Longueuil. By playing on these two levels, I regained a taste for competition and discovered another style of play that was just as attractive.

With the Citadins de l’UQÀM, you finished 5th at the Canadian University U-Sport Championship, how was the weekend in Vancouver?

André Bona:

It was a rewarding weekend on a collective level and quite nostalgic on a personal level because it was my last Canadian U-Sport University Championship.

We are obviously disappointed with the defeat in the quarter-finals by 1–0 on a penalty awarded in the last minutes. We were keen to put in a good performance against the same team that beat us 3–0 last year. We were in an outsider position because they were undefeated during the season. By respecting the coach’s instructions, we played equally throughout the game. If we had been a little more diligent, I think we could even have won.

After this cruel defeat, we had to bounce back and we set ourselves the objective of finishing the competition as high as possible. We got rid of the host team, UBC, and went for 5th place. I would like to congratulate the whole team that fought with their hearts throughout the competition, it was the team that won again and I am sure the coach will be able to draw inspiration from it for the coming seasons.

Personally, I am delighted to have been nominated to the 2nd Canada All Stars Team for my last championship: it is really rewarding to receive recognition at the national level. It also rewards all the work done with my teammates and all the UQÀM staff.

The Canadian Premier League (CPL) will begin its inaugural season in April 2019, what do you know about this league and what do you think?

André Bona:

The Canadian Premier League will be the first professional league in Canada, there were several regional semi-professional leagues but not really professional at the national level. There will be 7 teams for this first edition and it is a very good thing for Canadian football because it will allow us to have visibility on the international scene and offer future perspectives to the country’s young talents. Until now, with only 3 Canadian teams in MLS it was very complicated to get to the top level. The different trials across the country and the U-sport Draft will be excellent ways to access the professional world.

How did you find out that you had been drafted by the HFX Wanderers and what was your first reaction?

André Bona:

I got the news by phone, the coach called me to tell me the news. My first reaction was a great joy and pride because I knew that the competition was strong on the university circuit with very good players.

What are your sporting and personal ambitions for 2019?

André Bona:

First of all, I will do everything I can during the pre-season camp to get a professional contract with Halifax. Then it will be to integrate well into this new environment and earn my place in the starting 11.

On a personal level, I would like to have a very good season and become a reference in the long term for my position in this championship.

Alexander Bunbury, a former Canadian glory, announced that he is working on creating a team in Laval, a suburb of Montreal, by 2020, what do you think? Would you like to have the chance to play in the Montreal area one day?

André Bona:

I am surprised that there is no team in Quebec for this first edition of CPL but this project for 2020 would be a very good thing. The region has many talented players who want to develop at the highest level.

To know if I would like to play again in the Montreal area, for the moment the question is not topical. I am 100% focused on defending Halifax’s colours and helping the club make its mark on the national and even international scene.

Any last words for your fans?

André Bona:

I am very happy and honoured to wear the Halifax colours, it is an opportunity that has not been given to me in Europe and I hope to proudly give it back to the fans on the pitch.

Thank you to all those who have always supported me and believed in me.

--

--