Story -The Vast Horizon (Part 1)

Bhumi A.
3 min readJan 10, 2024

--

“Everything in the universe is within you. Ask all from yourself”- Rumi

The journey was one of those mundane types until we reached Bhubaneswar, which is around 1 hr 45 minutes from Puri (coastal city in the state of Odhisa, India). A group of monks who were a part of the International Society for Krishna Consciousness (ISKON) boarded the train. They were a group of 6 men, clad in orange-coloured dhoti and kurta, shaved head, and a U-shaped tilak drew right across the nose to their forehead, reaching till the back of their head. Out of the 6 gentlemen, one was to be seated right beside me. It was during their conversation with one of the fellow passengers that I go to know that they were to visit the ISKON temple situated at Balasore. Without having much to do about the recently collected information, I decided to look outside outside the window. However, the view didnot seem to interest me any longer. My mind was preoccupied with a lot of things happening in my life, from which I had been evading .

The Train was speeding through the barren fields, the vast acres of land. Nothing seemed to interest me, as my mind kept on drifting back to the day, I resigned from my job. Somehow working those extra long hours in front of the computer only to fetch more clients for the company was killing my passion and zeal for life. I wanted to be a writer, and I wanted to tell real stories about real people who have fought and conquered. Most importantly, I want to live before I die !

I remember the day I told my parents that I wanted to travel to the US for higher studies. It meant leaving my job and staying far away from my family and close ones. I thought a little struggle could get me through it. However, sometimes you have to choose your purpose in life over everything else!

I was lost in my train of thoughts, and suddenly I was interrupted midway. “Can you please plug in the charger there?” a soft voice came from beside me. It was this gentleman clad in orange dhoti and kurta. There was a soft and genuine smile on his face, which broke my train of thoughts. I realized I was sitting just beside the mobile charging point. I gladly followed his request. “Thank you,” came a soft reply. Once again, he interrupted me from my state of melancholy. “So, I think you are returning from Puri?” came a simple question from this gentleman. To which I replied with a nod. It was soon followed by a chain of conversation. He must have been a man in his forties, tall, medium built, sharp features. One could easily make out that he must have been a perfect-looking man in his youth.

Balasore was approximately 3 hours 18 minutes away from Bhubaneshwar. Hence we had sufficient time to strike up a good and meaningful conversation. From the conversation, I got to know that he is presently situated in Kentucky. He occasionally visits India and is an active member of ISKON (International Society of Krishna Consciousness) for the past 20 years.

Somehow I could not resist asking him this question; what prompted him to become a monk? With a persistent smile on his face, he replied, “My realization of the vast horizon.” Without understanding much of it, I asked him one more question, “What is the vast horizon?” To which he replied, “Let me tell you a story.” Saying thus, he began the story.

To be continued ……

Link to few other articles written by me:

6 Books With Valuable Life Lessons

6 Key Life Lessons From the Bhagavad Gita

6 Reasons You Must Take Side Hustle Seriously

10 Positive Attitude Shifts to Cultivate in 2024

5 Reasons Artificial Intelligence Cannot Replace Human Labor

4 Reasons The Loss of Mathew Perry Seems Personal

7 Ways to Cultivate Mindfulness in Daily Life

6 Yoga Asanas for Managing PCOD & Hormonal Imbalance

5 Ways Minimalism Boosts Well-being and Mental Health

Do Your Thing!

Why is Digital Detox Important?

--

--

Bhumi A.

Subject Matter Expert (Bio sciences), active interests in blogging. Email me for collaborations at: ad.bhumi9@gmail.com.