Every Film I’ve Watched in 2023: December

Adam Lester
8 min readJan 1, 2024

--

‘Godzilla Minus One’ (2023) | Toho Studios

Greetings friends! This is a record of every film I’ve watched in 2023, including rewatches, repeats and first viewings. Each film is accompanied by how / where I watched it, and my thoughts in 100 words or less. Welcome to part 12: December.

169. Doctor Strange in the Multiverse of Madness (2022)

Where? - Disney Plus [rewatch]

Thoughts - I’ve come to view this as two distinct films. On one hand, I dislike the boring MCU multiverse story. On the other hand, I like the darker side, where Sam Raimi brought the visual language of horror cinema to the MCU. Elisabeth Olsen’s performance is by far the best element of the film, although her arc is frustrating after the progression in WandaVision. Michael Waldron’s screenplay is a mess, which ultimately limits how engaging the story is. This would have worked better as a fully untethered Raimi horror film, instead of a messy collage which plays things too safe.

170. The Hunger Games (2012)

Where? - Amazon Prime [rewatch]

Thoughts - I’m pleased to say this holds up. It introduces the dystopic world and class divide of Panem, whilst also emphasising the severity of the Hunger Games as an event. It’s impressive that the film captures the tense and violent atmosphere whilst maintaining a 12 certificate. Although the cast is solid across the board, the key driving force of the film is Jennifer Lawrence’s performance. It’s nothing ground-breaking, and the book is still better, but it’s a solid start for the franchise.

171. Home Alone 2: Lost in New York (1992)

Where? - Disney Plus [rewatch]

Thoughts - Watching this film takes me right back to my childhood. In hindsight, it’s clear Home Alone 2 has issues. It’s a consumerist wet dream, the McAllister family need serious intervention from social services, and there’s a split second cameo from disgraced former reality TV host Donald Trump. But, I can’t hide the small candle flame of warmth I still get from watching this film, and remembering the festive joy I experienced as a child. Also, Tim Curry is an absolute treasure.

172. The Hunger Games: Catching Fire (2013)

Where? - Amazon Prime [rewatch]

Thoughts - This is the best film in the Hunger Games franchise. In every aspect, the film feels more confident and robust, making it a rare unicorn occurrence where the sequel is better than the original. The stakes are higher, there’s a sense of dread looming over the story, and the visual style is more polished. I’ve always liked the arena design for this instalment, and it was brought to life in glorious fashion. Jennifer Lawrence is once again fantastic, and the growing supporting cast offer a wonderful combination of humour, charm and sincerity. Rewatching this is always a pleasure.

‘The Hunger Games: Mockingjay Part 1’ (2014) | Lionsgate

173. The Hunger Games: Mockingjay Part 1 (2014)

Where? - Amazon Prime [rewatch]

Thoughts - I liked this a lot more than I remembered. While it’s potentially the slowest film in the series, and that could’ve been a weakness, it ultimately becomes the film’s strength. Slowing the pace allows for more focus on the story and characters, and offers ample room for tension to build. It was also refreshing to see a different side of a typical uprising. Seeing the behind the scenes planning of a revolution and shooting propaganda videos adds new layers to the story. It may not be the most exciting film, but I like it.

174. The Hunger Games: Mockingjay Part 2 (2015)

Where? - Amazon Prime [rewatch]

Thoughts - Unfortunately, the final Hunger Games instalment is a bit of a damp squib. It’s larger in scale, but it’s less interesting. There are moments which work well, but there isn’t enough momentum or substance to fill the runtime, resulting in pacing and tonal issues. Crucially, the ending isn’t satisfying. The story works, but the final jigsaw pieces come together in uneventful fashion to form a fairly bland image. It’s like the previous three films put all of the brilliant groundwork in, then this film takes its foot off the accelerator and pulls the car over instead of winning the race.

175. Klaus (2019)

Where? - Netflix [rewatch]

Thoughts - Although it’s a contemporary Christmas film, it’s already found its place as one of my favourites. It’s a truly magical film, balancing wonderful hand drawn animation, funny dialogue, and a story which is exciting, unique and emotional. In addition to telling a festive tale of someone selfish becoming selfless, it’s an inventive re-imagining of Santa’s origin. The story takes key components of mythology and gives them a creative, and often humourous update. The message of this film is so simple, but totally brilliant. To quote Klaus himself: “A true selfless act always sparks another.”

176. Office Christmas Party (2016)

Where? - Netflix [first viewing]

Thoughts - Office Christmas Party violated by low expectations and my sanity. The level of hijinks and exaggerated comedic bits was lower than I could’ve imagined. It’s supposed to be shocking and risky but it felt tired and formulaic. Between cocaine being misplaced as fake snow, and people photocopying various body parts, I felt like I’d seen every punchline hundreds of times. By the time I witnessed male genitalia being recreated using a 3D printer, I realised there wasn’t much on offer. Rather than feeling festive and joyful when the end credits hit, I felt incredibly bored and a tiny bit ashamed.

‘Chicken Run’ (2000) | Aardman Animations

177. Chicken Run (2000)

Where? - Netflix [rewatch]

Thoughts - It’s genius, and I don’t have enough words in my vocabulary to adequately describe how genius it is. Expert craftsmanship, a simple yet engaging story, and a razor-sharp sense of humour. It’s the type of film which is completely timeless, and it continues to offer a fun experience for anyone and everyone. Watching it now as an adult and realising just how funny the jokes are makes me unbelievably happy, and I’m in awe at the technical side of the film. Also, the score by John Powell and Harry Gregson-Williams is phenomenal. No one makes films like Aardman.

178. Your Christmas or Mine? (2022)

Where? - Amazon Prime [first viewing]

Thoughts - I was looking for heavy-handed festive sentimentality, and this fit the bill. The ludicrous narrative left me with numerous questions just ten minutes in. But, upon realising I would never get answers, I switched my brain off and tried to enjoyed myself. Which happened to varying degrees. I don’t think I was ever completely on board with what the film is selling, because it’s often unsure of what it’s selling. One minute it’s healthy doses of festive cheer, then it’s about family drama, then it’s increasing the British cringe humour etc. Ultimately, it was okay, but mostly forgettable.

179. Turning Red (2022)

Where? - Disney Plus [first viewing]

Thoughts - Another recent Pixar film which I liked, but I didn’t love. The sense of humour didn’t quite land for me, the personality and messages were too heavy handed at times, and the story runs out of steam. That being said, it’s fun and charming, and the animation is terrific. It didn’t look like a typical Pixar film, and it has a different energy. What I liked most is that it’s a film about change. Rather than telling a tired or familiar story, it was refreshing to see Pixar explore different types of life changes, struggles, and pressure from different sources.

180. Godzilla Minus One (2023)

Where? - Cinema screening [first viewing]

Thoughts - It’s incredible on every level. As a big monster movie, it absolutely rocks. Considering this had a significantly smaller budget than most blockbusters, I was blown away by the visuals. However, the fundamental reason this film works is the writing. Godzilla is part of the picture but not the whole picture, so the heavy lifting can take place at ground level. There’s a fascinating historical context which is explored in captivating detail, delicate characters who are three dimensional, biting social commentary and profound themes. Godzilla Minus One moved me, and it stayed with me for days after.

‘Love Actually’ (2003) | StudioCanal

181. Love Actually (2003)

Where? - DVD [rewatch]

Thoughts - Easily a top tier Christmas film. It taps into so many different elements of the festive period: celebration, family, love, kindness and more. Aside from that, it’s exceptionally well written, offering healthy doses of comedy, joyfulness and heartbreak. It has one of the most impressive ensemble casts in all of British cinema, without a single weak link. Considering how many characters and interwoven stories are featured, not a single moment is wasted. It’s such an accessible film because it’s about everyday people trying to be happy. If anyone has any criticisms of Love Actually, I’m sorry but I’m not listening.

182. The Nightmare Before Christmas (1993)

Where? - Disney Plus [rewatch]

Thoughts - There are many reasons to praise this film. From the iconic aesthetic design to the catchy soundtrack, there’s lots to like. I like it mostly because of everything offered under the surface. It’s a perfect contradiction, using Tim Burton’s dark, gothic quirkiness to explore the joy of Christmas. At its heart, it’s a story of discovery. It’s not just forced gothic quirk for the sake of quirk (like some other Tim Burton films we could mention), and perhaps that’s a result of someone else sitting in the director’s chair. So for me, the balance is struck just right.

183. My Neighbour Totoro (1988)

Where? - Netflix [rewatch]

Thoughts - I’ve loved this film for years, and it only gets better every time I rewatch it. In the grand scheme of Studio Ghibli’s filmography, it’s a relatively safe film, but that’s part of the charm. It has the magic and wonder of a fairy tale, with whimsical creatures and engaging characters. One aspect I love most is that unlike many other animated films aimed at a younger audience, there’s no villain or antagonist. It’s a film about family and kindness, and people facing challenges in life like illness and time. It’s absolutely wonderful, and Joe Hisaishi’s score is beautiful.

184. Matilda (1996)

Where? - Netflix [rewatch]

Thoughts - When I watch Matilda I still feel the same level of warmth and magic I experienced as a child. The casting for the film is perfect. Mara Wilson is the beating heart, and Pam Farris gives one of the best villainous performances I’ve ever seen. The film’s hero is Danny DeVito. Not only is his performance as Mr Wormwood delightfully despicable, but his passion and creativity as director are superb. Also, knowing about his kindness off screen fills me with joy. The story of Matilda means so much to me, and this film does a great job of adapting it.

Favourite new film of the month

Godzilla Minus One

Thank you for checking out part 12, hopefully you’ll find yourself back here soon for the first instalment of 2024! If you’ve enjoyed this article, please check out my other recent articles:

--

--

Adam Lester

Film enthusiast and comic book geek. Trying to be quicker on the uptake. I'm also on Letterboxd - https://boxd.it/9Cq6d