#pm_library: “Escaping The Build Trap”

Adam Kryszkiewicz
2 min readJan 22, 2022

In the next #pm_library post, I would like to tell you about a book that will change my approach to product development. It’s

’s “Escaping The Build Trap”.

I am an empathetic Product Manager — both to clients and members of my team. In addition, Docplanner is a really product lead organization. Despite all this, I have to admit that I sometimes land in “the build trap.”

Melissa Perri has noticed that it is a common affliction of PMs who started working as IT Project Managers or Product Owners. This is also my story. I realized that I had to work harder to change my DNA.

The motto of the entire book is: “Fall in love in problem, not in a solution.” I believe that this is a great motto (and a warning) for any manager. It has hit my head hard and I am sure it will stay there and let me better orient myself to focus on the outcome not only on the output.

The author emphasizes that escaping the building trap does not depend solely on the Product Manager. The whole organization has to change. Melissa Perri gives a lot of great advice on how any product manager can start these changes in the company.

Melissa Perri illustrates the entire product development process with a fictional company: “Marquetly.” It’s an efficient procedure, although, in my opinion, the whole story is a bit too hassle-free. In fact, Product Managers face many obstacles that are not covered here.

However, “Build Trap” is a must for every Product Manager, regardless of the level of experience. In addition, it should be read by business owners and senior managers who want to deliver real value for their customers.

--

--

Adam Kryszkiewicz

PM at Displate. We help people to collect their passions. Love working in interdisciplinary teams. Big “Star Trek” fan.