#pm_library: “Hooked: How to Build Habit-Forming Products”

Adam Kryszkiewicz
1 min readApr 14, 2022

Today I’d like to share my thoughts after listening to “Hooked: How to Build Habit-Forming Products” by Nir Eyal.

I have to admit that I expected more from this book. I was hoping the book would be much more revealing, while examples and techniques from “Hooked” seemed a bit “too obvious” for me.

Probably it’s good when you’re just starting your adventure with digital products, but not if you’ve been working there for 10 years or more.

Also, I didn’t enjoy many scientific parts when the author presented the psychological, evolutionary, or even physiological background of hooks. I might use some of these stories in casual talks with friends, but they are not really useful for the work.

I learned most chapters about “Variable Reward” and “Investment”. In my case, I see that quite often, I forget to ask myself (and my team) if we remember about them once we design our experience for our users.

Also, I really loved that tip: “Follow your most engaged users. Check how they use your product. What habits did it form? Later, let’s try to change your product in the way it will affect less engaged users”.

I listened to this version (narrated by the author himself): https://adbl.co/3nPciMo

--

--

Adam Kryszkiewicz

PM at Displate. We help people to collect their passions. Love working in interdisciplinary teams. Big “Star Trek” fan.