#pm_library: “Measure what matters”

Adam Kryszkiewicz
1 min readApr 10, 2022

--

This time I am adding on my #pm_library shelf “Measure What Matters”. This book has changed my approach to OKRs. Finally, thanks to listening to John Doerr I understood what it is all about.

I first met OKRs a few years ago while working in a global corporation. Unfortunately, my OKRs were the basis for evaluating my work (including bonuses). As I learned from “Measure What Matters” it was a fundamental mistake.

John Doerr indicates that OKRs cannot be linked to an employee or team evaluation. Without this linkage, the team will dare to set ambitious, barely achievable goals. Even if at Docplanner, we are not judged based on OKRs, it has been challenging to change my mindset.

Also, I have a different personal problem with those “stretched goals”. I’m a damn ambitious person, and I’ve always felt guilty for setting too high goals for my team. Needlessly. Lots of examples in the book (Chrome, Youtube, Zume pizza) show that goals should be barely achievable. And it is ok that you are far from your target for several quarters. If you draw the correct conclusions and keep faith in the goal, you shouldn’t lower the bar.

--

--

Adam Kryszkiewicz

PM at Displate. We help people to collect their passions. Love working in interdisciplinary teams. Big “Star Trek” fan.