pm_library: “The Culture Map: Decoding How People Think, Lead, and Get Things”

Adam Kryszkiewicz
2 min readApr 13, 2022

This time smth different in the #pm_library cycle: “The Culture Map: Decoding How People Think, Lead, and Get Things” by Erin Meyer.

As a geographer, I was intrigued by the title. As a PM, I was a bit skeptical. I always believed that the startup environment is relatively homogenous as an agile and a lean way of thinking and doing is free of cultural accretions.

Also, as a people person, I don’t want to judge people by their culture. So should we learn more about different cultures? Is it needed for teams that are building digital products? In my opinion, yes.

First of all, Erin Meyer explains that she is aware that the most important is getting to know people we work with or our customers as individuals, not as a case from a given culture. Getting to know their culture and decoding their habits might help us get to know them and understand them better.

“The Culture Map” is a very “business” oriented book. It covers topics like: managing people, giving feedback, negotiations, and conducting successful meetings. I liked the balance of anecdotes, research insights, and pragmatical tips in the book.

To cooperate successfully with people from different cultures, you should understand your culture first. It was one of the most critical discoveries after listening to this book. For us, some habits from the culture we were raised in are so natural that we might not be aware that they are creating issues for our colleagues.

While listening to “The Culture Map”, I’ve recalled a few situations from my PM experience that cultural differences have caused, and I didn’t get it then. With that knowledge, I might manage them in a better way.

To sum up. I recommend reading or listen “The culture Map,” which works with international teams. Don’t worry. It won’t create new prejudices in your head. It will make you even more empathetic towards colleagues from other cultures.

--

--

Adam Kryszkiewicz

PM at Displate. We help people to collect their passions. Love working in interdisciplinary teams. Big “Star Trek” fan.