#pm_library: “The Design of Everyday Things”

Adam Kryszkiewicz
2 min readSep 24, 2022

I’ve listened to “The design of everyday things” by Don Norman. It is one of the most iconic books about product design. What have I noted from it as a Product Manager?

“Good explanation of double diamond.” It wasn’t new for me, as I’ve used this design process since my time in Docplanner (thanks, Dawid Liberadzki). I recommend another variation of this approach: a triple diamond (read more here).

“Designing for error.” The author devoted a large part of the book to the aspect of design that people (including me) do not pay enough attention to. Each of us has devices at home that we do not use because they seem too complicated. Sometimes we blame ourselves for being “too stupid” to use them. We also drive ourselves into guilt if we dare to use it and make a mistake. Meanwhile, according to the author, it is often a design error. This way of designing requires a lot of humility and awareness of us as product builders in observing how users behave. In my opinion, this approach is crucial in building a viable product.

“Design vs. other teams” The author described many cases where great designs did not result in the success of products. Another team used a similar idea, and their implementation turned out to be a bull’s eye. Why? The product’s success is the close collaboration between the designer and other departments: engineering, marketing, sales, and customer service. If designers refuse to talk, their products are unlikely to gain traction.

Honestly speaking, I expected unique knowledge from this reading. I was hoping to learn basic design techniques (especially digital products) and to be able to understand the designers’ way of thinking better.

On the other hand, I would still recommend “The Design of Everything Things” to aspiring Product Managers who are not familiar with “design thinking” or “human-centered design.”

--

--

Adam Kryszkiewicz

PM at Displate. We help people to collect their passions. Love working in interdisciplinary teams. Big “Star Trek” fan.