#pm_library: “The Lean Product Playbook”

Adam Kryszkiewicz
2 min readJan 22, 2022

Another book has landed in my #pm_library: “The Lean Product Playbook” by

. It is the second book (after “Inspired” by Marty Cagan) that I also ordered in a paper version.

I find “The Lean Product Playbook” an excellent book for PM beginners. It is a practical guide. In a simple way, Dan Olsen presents techniques that can be used at each stage of the development of a product.

IMO it is also a valuable lecture for more advanced PMs. First, by reading the book carefully, you can fill in those aspects of the product development that you feel less confident about. In my case, it is analytics and refining the product-market fit.

Secondly, you might want to return to it when you feel stuck with your product in a blind spot. Getting back to basics should allow you to get back on track.

I liked the chapter about “The importance versus satisfaction”, the framework presented in the example of Uber. I also recommend a paragraph about “The Case Study: Friendster,” where the author shows how an analyst can help choose the right problem to achieve the set goals.

It seems to me that there could be more such case studies presented in the book, but still, I highly recommend the book. Anyway, how could I not recommend a book with a chapter: “Oprah versus Spock”.

--

--

Adam Kryszkiewicz

PM at Displate. We help people to collect their passions. Love working in interdisciplinary teams. Big “Star Trek” fan.