Why Don’t Doctors Talk About Healing?

Adam King
5 min readSep 21, 2020
Photo by William Farlow on Unsplash

In fourteen years working as a healthcare provider, I have never heard a Doctor referred to as a healer. In fact, when I think of that word, I immediately picture someone who is more holistic in their approach. I might imagine a shaman, medicine man, or priest, but not a doctor.

Instinctively, I know that Doctors aren’t able or willing to address my spiritual, emotional, or social needs.

Modern Western Medicine treats the human body, much like my mechanic treats my car. Doctors and Mechanics use various tests to find what is broken, and then they remove the bad parts and replace them. This model is handy for cars, which are made out of materials that are not self-renewing.

But the human body is infinitely more complex. As a living organism, our bodies are designed to continually repair themselves and maintain homeostasis. The nervous systems of our bodies regulate and adjust millions of times a day to keep everything online and running smoothly. As far as organisms go, this is standard practice.

In fact, this particular group of organisms has been living without modern medicine for millennia. Many of our hunter-gatherer ancestors lived nearly as long as we do today, despite having no access to x-rays, CT scans, chemotherapy, or surgery.

So why aren’t we talking about…

--

--

Adam King

Lead Coach at Wise in the Making. Paramedic, Philosopher, and Father of six kids. Writing to make the world a better place. www.wiseinthemaking.com