What do our home screen apps say about us?

Adam Kruger
2 min readFeb 13, 2019

--

Yesterday I had the idea of taking a screenshot of my home screen once a month, to see its evolution over time.

I don’t know for sure if I’ll stick with this exercise, but it seems like something that will only take a few seconds of my time each month to do, and would be a cool way to see how my apps/preferences evolve.

Here’s what my home screen looks like this morning:

I think I’ll use this as my questioning exercise this morning.

3 minutes on the clock, starting….now!

  • Where did this idea come from?
  • Will I actually keep up with the habit of taking a screenshot every month? What would stop me from doing so, since it seems easy enough?
  • What are the chances anyone else out there does a similar exercise?
  • Will this home screen exercise help me to become more reflective of which apps are on my home screen?
  • Do I buy into the research that suggests that our decision of which apps we place on our home screen truly does tempt us and should be considered wisely?
  • How long do I think we’ll continue to use mobile phones (before some sort of VR implant or some major future tech advancement? Another 5 years? 10 years? 20 years?
  • How can I best think through which apps I should keep on my home screen, and which I should swap out?
  • Could the simple process of say, putting an exercise app on your home screen if your goal is to work out more, help you better achieve your goal? If you want to cut down on your social media usage, could simply moving your social media apps off of your home screen help at all? Has any experiment been done to test this theory? Could I run a small experiment with my friends on this?

Did you enjoy reading this post? Did you hate it? Either way, would ya let me know below? :) Thanks! Hope you have an awesome day!

--

--