Adam Nguyen
5 min readApr 5, 2024

--

From Toxic to Tropic: A Journey of Self-Care and Healing (Part 12)

At the early break of dawn, I knew my adventure in Vietnam was drawing to a close. My last day in this vibrant country began at 5am Tuesday morning. My driver arrived promptly to take me from my hotel in Da Nang to the airport. I was saddened to leave this part of the country to go back to the city, but my final departure would be out of Saigon. The early morning streets were peaceful and quiet, allowing for a moment of reflection on the incredible experiences I had. As the nightlights passed by I smiled and thought of all the friends I had made, the things that I’ve done, but also the ways that I’ve changed. I’ve gained parts of me back, discovered new elements within me, and built myself into a better man than when I arrived.

Smooth Departures and New Beginnings

Arriving at Da Nang International Airport, the check-in process at the was seamless, a perk of having booked a business class seat with Vietnam Airlines. The luxury of the business lounge awaited me, offering a quiet space to enjoy breakfast. Zoning out with my earbuds in I relaxed and savored a Vietnamese dish called banh cuon. A childhood favorite of mine which consists of thick rice noodles similar to pappardelle pasta and served with some slices of cha lua (Vietnamese bologna) and topped with a delicious fish sauce (nuoc mam).

--

--

Adam Nguyen

Follow my journey of self-care and growth through hard work and travel. You can also follow my journey at self-caretravels.blogspot.com