Online virtual tour through The Van Gogh Museum

Adarsh Thankaraj
2 min readOct 26, 2022

--

Today’s virtual visit to the Van Gogh Museum was one of the strangest and most beautiful experiences of my life. The fact that it was virtual made it ever so unusual, just like Van Gogh’s paintings and his life.

This being my first virtual 360-degree tour, it was tricky in the beginning to get used to the interface. However, it lasted for less than a minute before the tour piqued my interest and got me hooked on this intriguing museum. I prefer to think of the museum as Van Gogh’s life in its entirety. I say this because the museum just transported me on a fantastical journey through his accomplished life.

The museum has three floors, each of which explores a different aspect of Van Gogh’s life through his artwork. Engaging with Van Gogh’s works was a delight for me. It is one of a kind because of his distinctive brushwork and color contrast. The ground floor houses many of his self-portraits and artwork from his early days. The first floor showcased his artistic journey in Paris and some of his friends’ works. Through exhibits of his family, friends, and letters to them, the second floor simply brought me closer into his private life. By the time I reached the final floor, I got a little emotional as I saw some of his late artworks before he shot himself to death.

There is more to this museum visit than just the artwork. It gives us insights into the still-unknown circumstances surrounding Van Gogh’s suicide, as each artwork displays a state of mind.

Read this post and more on my Typeshare Social Blog

--

--