Zscaler (Associate Software Engineer) Interview Experience

adarshpy
3 min readNov 25, 2023

--

Zscaler is the highest paying company that comes to our college with 17 LPA (9 LPA In hand + stocks). Everyone wants to join Zscaler in my college

Video Meeting (Information about Company and Role)

Zscaler has shared a Zoom meeting link with all the people who have filled out the form. In the meeting, they told us about the role and package they are going to offer.
And they have clearly mentioned that they are going to do the online test only in Java / Python. And I was not confident in both languages as I was doing data structures in C++. But still, I thought why not give it a try?

Round 1 (Screening Round)

In this round, they have shared a Hackerrank test link which has only the option to code in Python / Java. There were 20 multiple choice questions based on computer science fundamentals(mostly computer network) and 3 DSA coding questions(2 easy and 1 medium problem from leetcode). I was able to solve the first 2 easy questions but was unable to solve the last question fully(1 test case was failing) as I was writing code in Java and I was not confident in that enough.

1st coding question was a string question, 2nd question was a linked list question, 3rd question was a tree question. I was easily able to do all MCQ questions as I studied computer networks very thoroughly as my coursework. I qualified for this round.

Round 2 (Coding Round)

This interview started with computer networking questions (OSI model) and more computer network questions. Then one easy DSA question and one medium DSA question. This round was after 2 days so I prepared myself for Java coding this time. I was able to solve all the DSA questions but was not able to answer all the networking as the interviewer was going very deep into it.

Qualified for this round too.

Round 3 (Manager round)

This round was very much about my experience and a lot of situation-based questions. He asked me about my experience and the projects I have made. Then he asked to print the prime number between 1–100, which I did immediately. Then he started asking about the situation-based question. I also somehow managed to answer all his questions. I don’t know if I was right or wrong.

I qualified for this round too.

Round 4 (HR Round)

This round was all about HR questions like Why do I want to join the company, Tell me something about Zscaler. I have not done enough research about the company and I was not able to answer all the questions of HR. I thought I would easily qualify HR round if I already qualified for all the rounds. This was my biggest mistake.

The next day list of selected students came out and I was not in that ….

Not Selected

--

--