Done is better than perfect

Carmen
2 min readFeb 28, 2016

--

Last December, after almost 3 years of being the head of Tetuan Valley, I passed the reigns to Karel, that has been a pilar of our organization since he joined, 2 years ago. This was something that we talked about and planed for a long time. It was difficult for me because Tetuan Valley and the Startup School are my babies, although adopted ones, and the community around it is my family[1], but I knew that it was about time.

But this post is not to talk about that. This post is an attempt to purge this writers block that I have, because I have to write a blog post about this last 3 years and the transition to a new era.

How can you have writers block when you have so much to say? Well, the funny thing is that after a lot of years of experience being a human, and reading a bit about how our awesome but very often dysfunctional brains work[2], I got a pretty good idea about what is happening in there[3]. Yet knowing and changing it are two very different things, because surprisingly, you can not reason with emotions. Specially when the traitors are set to sabotaging you.[4]

So I have to write a blog post to sum up the most intense, self realizing years of my life, and every time I tried to start on the task I block. I’ve been trying to write it since before Christmas.

The reason this is happening is not very complicated. I want this blog post to be as epic as this years has been. I want it to make justice to all the amazing experiences and the inspiring people that had allow me to be part of their lives.[1] And I put myself expectations so high that I feel like a deer staring into headlights, unable to move.[5]

There are tricks to put this pressure off. My favorite one is to admit out loud the problem. This is me doing that. I hope it works :)

[1] It sounds cheesy, I know. I’m a cheesy person when I talk about things I care about.

[2] http://www.aaronsw.com/weblog/productivity http://waitbutwhy.com/2013/10/why-procrastinators-procrastinate.html

[3] As good as a muggle like me can have, without having study psicology nor neurology.

[4] For example when you have stage panic, and you know you are completely capable of doing a great job doing a speech, if only your fear wouldn't get in the way.

[5] This used to happen a lot when I was a kid. Fortunately one of the best things I learned on the startup world is not to being afraid of making mistakes, just jump and learn to build the parachute on the way down. It works, most of the time.

--

--

Carmen

Spanish Startup Association founder @startups_es. Always @tetuanvalley