“Blocking The Noise” Is An Underrated Skill

Adbeel’s Catalog
3 min readOct 10, 2022

--

a man covering his ears

On my way to work everyday, I am always given the opportunity to exercise free will. I get to choose the quickest path to my workplace in order to meet up with time.

It’s not as easy as it sounds, I have to deal with focusing on following one particular rider even when a lot of riders are trying to grab my attention (anyone living in Nigeria will relate). It gets really noisy- choosing 1 out of 10 to 12 riders… I have to make a lot of mental calculations at that instant.

Some things I consider before making a quick decision are:

  • The rider that would be faster.
  • The vehicle that will be more comfortable for me (especially if it’s raining).
  • The vehicle that feels more secure.
  • The rider that is going to my exact location.

Among other things…

I get to make this quick decision as fast as I can and ignore the 9 other riders trying to grab my attention and stick to just one.

Similarly, life throws a lot of options at us every single day. There is never only one clear path to follow. As long as you need to take a step further in your career, marriage or education, life always has a way of presenting you with options. How you scale them and stick to one decision is all that matters.

Knowing how to block the noise coming from the outside world is a skill that is not talked about enough.

It takes a good amount of discipline to stick to just one path for a long period of time.

For example, you choose to go down the entrepreneurship path and try to build a business on the internet, maybe as a Writer, a Digital marketer or even a Trader. These are very lonely paths to follow because when you look around, a lot of people do not really encourage entrepreneurs, so you need to figure out your own source of strength and ignore whatever others are doing.

The best way to achieve this is by understanding your “Why” and loving the person you are becoming.

“Why do I want to go down this path even though I know following what others are doing would be easier?” (It’s advisable to write out your “Why” in a place you can always be reminded).

I agree I said its a lonely path, but at a point you need people, not just anyone but people going your way with the same amount of drive you have towards what you are passionate about.

Are you a writer? involve your self in activities other writers are doing, make friends with more advance writers and writers around your level.

Remember the key to being consistent and blocking out the noise is remembering your “Why”.

Do you enjoy my content? Support my work by buying me a coffee ☕️

Thanks for reading :)

--

--