The Queen of Pop is Back: Celine Dion Fought and Conquered

Olympic games Opening

Cheery
1 min readJul 28, 2024
Photo by Guillaume Didelet on Unsplash

My childhood memories would be incomplete without Celine Dion, a significant part of my musical growth. While I don't sing, I have always loved music.

Celine has an array of hit songs, but my favourites are "I'm Alive," "Because You Loved Me," and "A New Day Has Come." And of course, "The Prayer," her live performance with Andrea Bocelli, holds a special place in my heart.

I recently had a nostalgic wave watching Celine Dion perform live at the Olympic Games opening in Paris. Tears streamed down my cheeks, and goosebumps covered my skin. I couldn't help but exclaim, "The Queen is back!"

In December 2022, Celine was diagnosed with a rare disease called stiff person syndrome, a neurological disorder affecting her muscles. Rumours of her death spread worldwide. The first rumour was debunked with the release of her life documentary.

This live performance debunked the second rumour. I'm overjoyed to see her back, singing and standing strong without any support. I'm also relieved that the rumour of her singing alongside Lady Gaga was untrue; she shone brilliantly on her own.

I’m glad she’s back and stronger than ever.

Cheery❤️

--

--