Adé A.O | adeinalife.
2 min readJan 1, 2020

MY YEAR OF 50 BOOKS

Steps

I started 2019 with a goal to read 50 books this year, I have never done this before. The why — I wanted to learn more through books, I wanted to inspire internal creativity by reading more and creating time for something I truly find value in. As of the last day of this decade, I had read 48 books prior and within 24 hours I have to complete all 50 books to meet my goal. I can’t believe that I did it, it’s been quite a journey, the process of finding the books to pick, to process of moving from actually books loaned from the local library to trying out audiobooks at 2x the audio speed and adapting to this change. I have learned a lot about psychology, character, personal goals, a lot of how and why I procrastinate, what I like and don’t like. I made sure to stick to non-fiction books only, asking friends, family and even strangers of book recommendations.

I definitely encourage everyone to try this, and interested to know if you’ve tried this and what you learned about yourself in 365 days. And, honestly some months I was not on track just because of life, finding the push to maintain to my goal. Some books I really loved, some I didn’t and stopped and picked another book. I tried as much as possible to find books on various topics also. I averaged 3–4 books a month, some months more than 4 and others 3. In past years I barely even averaged 10 books the entire year and I got to complete 50 books in 2019.

Adé A.O | adeinalife

Adé A.O | adeinalife.

minimalist | writer | sustainable environmentalist | marathoner | plastic free | less is more | photographer | solo traveler. IG @adeoduwa Twitter @adeinalife