Social Media

Adé A.O | adeinalife.
2 min readJul 6, 2019

--

Notifications Array.

I have talked before how the internet is merely two decades old, and social media is fairly newer. There is so many application out there. In this age of digitalism, there’s so much information out there, easily accessible to most in the developed world. I realized that sometimes having too much doesn’t mean its good. I had to filter all the noise and in some cases distractions from my personal devices.

So after having almost 200 apps on my iPhone I have since reduced it to 40 (80% drop) of the most essential applications that bring value to me and my time. Since the new ability to check my screen time on my phone, I soon realized how much time I was spending weekly on non-productive time.

I had to focus my time on things that matter and have value to my core. In the past six months, I have managed to declutter my phone, my iPad and MacBook Pro. In addition to all of that I also have left facebook and instagram for many reasons, re-evaluated the time I spend on YouTube, having my zero inbox strategy and how I get the News.

A couple months ago when I talked about “Decluttering,” I mentioned the zero inbox strategy — the technique where I check my email twice daily, after 7am (Do Not Disturb is on 2200–0700), and I get my inbox to zero every time its checked, sent to either Achieve or Trash.

I spent 30 days off social media for a detox, I realized quickly what mattered most to me and what brought joy and purpose to me. Living with less isn’t about not being on social media but its more about the experiences that you have, the message and content you put out there.

For me personally, facebook wasn’t driving my purpose nor did I want to know what everyone was doing. Same for instagram, I posted only for myself and to drive my experience through being a minimalist.

I left both social media outlets almost two months now, and I might come back to instagram since I love photography and travel. It would be more intentional and driven based on how I live my life with less, minimalism, sustainability and the environment.

NEWS — I have filtered the way I get the news, mostly nationally, internationally on topics and passions of mine. All notifications on my devices are off, and a black page on all screens. Set App limits on apps, this as tremendously reduced how much time I spent on my phone and my increased time writing more, reading more books and having more meaningful experiences with self and others.

Adé A.O | adeinalife

--

--

Adé A.O | adeinalife.

minimalist | writer | sustainable environmentalist | marathoner | plastic free | less is more | photographer | solo traveler. IG @adeoduwa Twitter @adeinalife