Temilade Adelakun
2 min readMay 31, 2018

I am new in programming... I am a Newbie in programming, what language should I start with?!?!

I see this question frequently on platforms, whatsapp group pages, facebook group pages that has to do with developers. I think it’s time to drop a piece of my mind about this question...well it might not be the direct kind of answer you are expecting.

Sometimes,seeking people first about what programming language to start with is not so good because everyone gives advice based on :

  • The programming language they like,
  • The programming language they were introduced to when they started learning ,
  • Their strength or weakness
  • The information they have about a particular language or even based on what they feel is right.

Don’t quote me wrong, "I am not saying it is bad to seek people’s consent about the programming language to start with as a newbie". But I believe a step should be taken before this.

What is the step?

Being New to programming, I think Google should be your best friend before consulting a human friend. Check out list of programming languages on Google, the applications of the languages so as to have an Idea of what you might be interested in. You could also get details on best PDF books for programming languages you might like and also best online courses to take. Believe me google is just the best place to make enquiries.
Now I think you are ready to seek advice from people. By the time you are being told why you should pick a particular programming language you would understand better and be able to ask more questions on the programming language.
This is just a piece of my mind. I hope this helped someone.

I encourage you to leave your comments below here which may help a newbie in programming so we can all learn together. you could also drop relevant websites that could help in getting resources needed for programming
If you liked this article, please give it some claps. Also give me a follow on twitter.
Thank you all for reading.
Feel free to share also.

Temilade Adelakun

Christian ❤️ | Business | Technology | Products | Leadership | People | Women in STEM Advocate | Impact |