Dorcas Akinade
3 min readOct 19, 2019

#30 Days Writing Challenge: Learning to write again Day #1.

I guess my topic gave me out already. It’s been a while I really wrote, like write, leaving out content I create for my financial literacy platform ( @moneybugle, you should check it out on IG, Twitter and Facebook). I really miss writing and to show how long it has been, it took me extra seconds to find where the create a post tab here on Medium is (inserts ‘palm in face’ emoji).

This morning, while doing my non-paying part time job for my roommate- in the series of how do I look, does this colour fit, should I wear this shoe? I saw the #30 Day writing challenge by Deoye Falade and that kind of spurred me and revived my writing spirit (Amen somebody) coupled with my guilt that I am owing a writing assignment sort of to my new writing mentor Daniel Adeyemi .

I can’t really explain what made me stop. Sometimes I blame it on writers block (you know na, lingua franca of some lazy writers). Othertimes, it’s actually more than just being lazy, I have something to talk about but the words are not flowing. And I will be like, how can I just post two sentence and call it writing? There should be another term for that. I am not usually bothered about who will read it as I have a curious fanbase on my WhatsApp status who will read any link I post (maybe one or two persons. Wait, were you expecting like hundred? Lolz, I am not a Celeb yet).

To practicalize what I have read and do justice to all the advise I am receiving from my mentor, I am resuming back to consistent writing. I am hoping this #30daychallenge will be the push my writing ship needs to sail. It’s going to be a freelance schrift. I intend it to make it as simple as possible so I don’t get daunted along the way.

I am a financial literacy enthusiast so that may reflect along the way, I am somewhere in between a beginner and an experienced hire in my career journey so I might reflect on some of my career stories and struggles. I have good friends that I spend time with, I like to tease my newly wedded friend Iyawo, I discuss techy things with some of my friends too, and yes I have a few tabs open on some people that I am watching closely from afar all these might influence what I write here. I like fine boys (don’t judge me). Apologies, I did not state the real deal, I am a sapio. So maybe I might share thoughts on love, this is more personal, I am usually on mute when the conversation is becoming more intimate but who knows, maybe it’s the open mindedness and liberality I need to be back on my writing tracks.

Picture of my To do list with my writing assignment in red (showing that it’s long overdue)

I hereby dedicate this post as my restoration and sojourn back into the fold of writing, may I develop the grit, consistency and dedication to stick to this challenge. In other news, as I write this, my role has switched from a fashion/outlook judge to ‘Taxi orderer”, maybe I will rant about online taxi driver in my next post.

So good day ladies and gentlemen of the writing club! This Dorcas Akinade reporting back to duty (I can’t even remember my username offhand, I will need to keep this as draft to check. Nope, I will check that later)

Please feel free to comment, like and share and more importantly share tips that has helped you in your writing pilgrimage.

Love and Light!

Update: I just had a scare (lolz) I was trying to insert picture and the post disappeared, took me some minutes to figure out where the draft is. I can’t imagine writing this all over again (do you think I am ready for this challenge?🤔 )

Dorcas Akinade

Economist, Tech Enthusiast, Finance Analyst. I am curious. I have learnt the ability to learn to learn.