Top 5 Best Email Sending APIs in 2024

Rasmus Adeltoft
3 min readMay 4, 2024

--

After personally going through finding the best email API, I compiled my findings into this article. I show how I rank the top 5 best email sending APIs, and explain why I think they should be ranked like this.

Email APIs Comparison Table

The final ranking for the top 5 best email APIs in 2024 ends up being:

  1. SendGrid
  2. Mailchimp
  3. Mailgun
  4. Postmark
  5. Amazon SES

The ranking reflects the factors I think are most important. The main ones being price per month, reviews by others, and customer support. SendGrid and MailChimp stands out as they are both relatively cheap, and both have many and good reviews. Mailgun and Postmark seems to be less popular choices, and Postmark is a bit more expensive. In the end we have Amazon SES, which I did want to include, but seems to be more catered towards very large enterprise customers.

The APIs presented in this overview are all email sending APIs. They are also known as transactional email services, email sending APIs for developers, email API service etc. They all provide the same thing: an API that you can use for sending emails to your users.

Later in the article I go over each metric and explain how I have collected and compared them.

Background

I was recently looking into finding an email sending API service for my own website. While doing so, I wanted to make sure I chose the best option available. When researching, I found that it was a jungle, and each existing top 5 comparison was made by the email APIs them selves, so they are heavily biased. Therefore I decided to publish my own.

Methodology

There are many email APIs available. I found the top 5 most popular ones, and then did extensive research on each of them to rank them, and compiled it all in the table seen above.

Pricing

The pricing is often difficult to compare because each provider has many different package options, and the pricing depends on how many emails you need to send per month. I tried to make a fair comparison by choosing equivalent packages on each website, corresponding to 50,000–100,000 emails sent per month. If you need more or less than this, the price per month will be different.

Reviews

For each of the email API services, I collected the average Capterra rating and the number of reviews. This is a good signal into how popular a service is, and what people think of them. None of the average ratings stood out, as they are all in the high end, above 4. One thing that did stand out is that SendGrid and Mailchimp have a lot more ratings than the others, indicating they are popular choices, and users stick with them. Mailchimp in particular has a lot more ratings than the others. I think this is because Mailchimp also provides other services than email APIs, so many of the reviews are probably from those services as well.

Free Tiers

All services have free triers for you to try out. Some offer more free credits than others. This should not be a deciding factor, as you will probably anyway upgrade to the paid service, so the free tier is just for testing out which provider works better than others.

Final Words

I have not received any payments from any of the providers, and the rankings express my own personal opinion. I have tried my best to be fair in the comparisons, and carefully collected each metric. If you notice an error in the data or want to point something else out, please contact me directly and I will make sure to update the article.

--

--

Rasmus Adeltoft

Computer Scientist | Software Engineer. I run https://lenspricer.com/, a price comparison website for contact lenses, and I write about software development.