The Birth of Nigerian Alternative Music.

Aderinsola
1 min readOct 31, 2021

Shortly before I got the idea to write this, I came across the music video of Asa’s Jailer. It felt extremely nostalgic as I could immediately picture myself in my uncle’s musty room on the second floor of my grandfather’s house in Surulere. During my time at the Oluwani house, I discovered P-square, mohits(don jazzy, wande coal and others), J martins, Bracket, eldee, soundsultan and tuface. These artistes contributed to a larger degree, my music catalougue but I remember Asa’s being very soothing.

Unlike other mainstream artistes during that time, hers was the only alternative sound I remember distinctively. She was able to create a path for herself and make space for other alternative artistes to come later. Artistes such as blackmagic, showdemcap, ajebutter and boj. It is undeniable that their sounds are infused with afrobeat unlike asa’s but a huge chunk of their collective music is slow and calming.

Another groundbreaker is Terry G with his many piercings, shiny gold bells and electric dance moves. His personality and music contrasted heavily with “Nigerian” principles which attributed to his acceptance or lack thereof by the Nigerian society. He encouraged people to embrace the atypical and managed to broaden minds to consider realities and ways of life that differed from theirs.

Asa and Terry G might seem to belong to different genres of music, but they made way for alternative music in a way never seen before.

Edited by J.

--

--