Chaos Engineering — How to safely inject failure in your application?

Chaos Engineering with Canary deployments

Adrian Hornsby
The Cloud Architect

--

I recently did a two-hour webinar dedicated to chaos engineering and got a lot of great questions from the audience. In this mini-series of posts, I take some time to answer them.

If you missed the webinar, you could access it on-demand from the link below. And if you have questions you would like me to address, feel free to ask me directly on Twitter :-)

One of the most commonly asked question with regards to Chaos Engineering is:

“How to safely inject failure in your application?”

That is probably the most important question out there. And the answer is simple;

The safest way to inject failure in the environment is by using the canary deployment pattern.

Yes! And it is one of the essential things about experimenting safely:

--

--

Adrian Hornsby
The Cloud Architect

Principal System Dev Engineer @ AWS ☁️ I break stuff .. mostly. Opinions here are my own.