Similar but different

Ana Diaz-Young
5 min readMar 13, 2023

--

For my original gesture, I explored the action of grabbing my shoulder as my gesture. I was really interested in the interaction between the hand of the shoulder and thought that the almost twisted arc resulted in pressing the clay against my shoulder.

Making the three primitives:

Cylinder: I found making the cylinder one of the hardest parts of this process, especially the sanding down and ensuring it was consistent throughout. But I am very glad I had practice working with the foam as it helped me learn best practices that helped later in the project. I made the cylinder the size of my palm to allow it to have a similar grip to the original object.

Ellipsoid: The ellipsoid process tested my patience and helped me explore different techniques to shape the form. Additionally, I enjoyed how forgiving it was and allowed you to smooth over your mistakes. I started with a sphere and then worked on flattening it. I chose this size so that it would fit in the palm as the original form does. It does the best job of communicating this feeling.

Rectangle: while I have experience making models out of things like cardboard, this was my first time using the foam board, and it required me to be very intentional and careful in my cuts to try and make them as accurate as possible in order for it to allow every piece to fit together. I adjusted the template to fit the measurements of the bottom of my hand to the first joints in my fingers so that it would have a similar bend of the fingers. This also made it feel like you were holding against something firm.

Exploring the words:

  • Soft
  • Light
  • Dynamic

The first photo is the page of notes I took where I explored my ideas based on the three words. The second is my sketchbook page exploring my final idea through sketches.

Originally with this idea, I attempted to explore it in clay, but I found it really difficult to shape the twist of it and to get it to dry with the curve.

I also then tried carving the shape out of foam. Initially, just to play around while letting the clay, I ended up really liking the ways I could shape the material and the results. The initial mock-up ended up being rough so I decided to do another one with more emphasis on craft.

While I was working on this more refined model, I realized that while it worked well at communicating an almost topography of the curve, it didn't allow for any human interaction as it was more of a representation of the shape rather than the actual shape of the gesture.

I then moved to explore more of a different adaptation of the gesture that was influenced by my words. I wanted it to communicate a similar feeling of gripping the shoulder while fitting better with my words. I especially wanted it to feel like something people wanted to touch — to communicate dynamic.

Initially, I was going to attempt this by using the foam board and paper as it would allow it to translate a similar feeling as something to push against, similar to the shoulder. But it ended up being difficult to assemble and cut precisely due to the complex shape.

I decided to return back to shaping foam as I had really enjoyed that. I kept working on shaping the curves inorder for it to fit the grip of the hand better and communicate it being more dynamic. I also worked on sanding it so that I would feel soft. Not having flat sides also contributed to this.

Reflection:

Through this assignment, I got to experience working with different materials I hadn’t used before. Especially working with the pink foam and learning the different applications will be very helpful for future projects. I really enjoyed being able to make physical projects and work with my hands to learn these new materials. I think one thing I learned that I will continue to use in future projects is to just to try stuff. While you might have material limits, you should always try to attempt your ideas even if it's not made up of the final material, like the crumpled paper that ended up being the basis for my final object. Doing this really helps you explore the form and try out different shapes without being committed to just one final idea. You learn the most through trying things out and getting your ideas out of your head.

--

--