Climate Change, Choice and the American Dream

Aditi Kedari
4 min readNov 8, 2022

--

I am the daughter of first-generation immigrants. I will be the first in my family to dream as far as I can and chase my ambitions to the sky. I have my parents’ support and I want to make them proud. I want to go to college, medical school, complete a residency, practice as a surgeon, and travel. I want to own a beautiful home that I can fill with books, love and laughter.

When Roe. v. Wade was overturned, I was in disbelief. After all, we live in America, and while this country had its flaws, there was no way they could just snatch our rights from us. I was even more incredulous when I found out that abortion bans did not make exceptions for an ectopic pregnancy or rape- you had to carry it to term.

It makes no sense that someone else should violate my right to have control over my body. Even if I was to be violated, I would still have no autonomy over my body. Yet so-called “pro-lifers” continue to celebrate this “win,” claiming they are saving lives. They continue to celebrate saving a fetus while they kill living, breathing women.

I realized that if I were to get pregnant, all my dreams would come crashing down. All it takes is for me to be on the wrong street at the wrong time for my hopes to slip away. It would void every sacrifice my parents made to come to America so that I would have more opportunities, so I could live the American Dream. Suddenly, I am in India again where marital rape is legal, abortion is a fever dream, and rape is as common and unprosecuted as shoplifting from the convenience store.

It would be crushing to be forced to abandon my ambitions for a child I did not want. This is the fate that I feel as though I am doomed to face if our country continues on this trajectory, a fate of oppression and suppression. But amidst the hatred, I find my anger, which drives me to action. Today, my anger is telling me that I must fight. I may never realize true equality both under the law and society in my lifetime, but I sure as hell will fight for it. Millions of women came before me and millions will come after me, and I will join them in raising my voice.

That is what I have done at Vote Climate U.S. PAC, a non-profit organization that works to elect candidates to get off fossil fuels, transition to clean, renewable, energy and reduce carbon pollution by putting a fee on carbon, to slow climate change. Vote Climate U.S. PAC is the only website in the country to provide a climate change Voter’s Guide for candidates for U.S. House, U.S. Senate, Governors, and Statehouses (partial) all in one user-friendly site. Following the shock of the June overturning, we also decided to share where incumbents and challengers stand on Roe v. Wade, the U.S. Supreme Court decision that legalized abortion.

I have spent countless late nights researching candidates and writing out descriptions for their positions, where I have read far too many statements from politicians who have vowed to take away my right to choose with no regard for my life or liberty. That is why this election is so important, and why making an informed vote is even more important — we are deciding the fate of American women.

When I lived in India, I loved being near my family and my culture, but I also hated the sexism. I hated how they looked at women in the streets. I hated feeling everything in my life was being controlled by a man. I hated seeing female neighbors and relatives talk about how their husbands wouldn’t let them do anything. I hated the fact that my body was heavily policed. I hated feeling controlled, like there was no escape.

This was the biggest reason that I wanted to leave India. I saw how women were treated, and I did not want to live in that reality when I grew up. I knew I wanted to be free, not to have law, society and my husband telling me what I can do with my life and body. This was why I wanted to leave India, but it seems that the oppression I faced there has followed me home to Maryland.

While I am incredibly lucky to live in Maryland where abortion is protected until fetal viability, this will not always be the case. If I were to move for college or my career, I may end up in a state where abortion is banned. This means my right to choose is non-existent, putting my life, career and future in jeopardy.

For those who can vote, I hope you use our Vote Climate U.S. PAC guide to vote climate and vote choice. Vote for climate action and to protect the life and liberty of every American woman. After all, isn’t that what America is all about?

Aditi Kedari is a student activist and intern at Vote Climate U.S. PAC. She is passionate about social justice, human rights campaigns and hopes to be a surgeon one day. You can contact her at info@voteclimatepac.org .

--

--