Aerospace: From Ground to Sky (Series Overview)

Aditya Dutta
2 min readAug 1, 2024

--

Curious about aerospace engineering, but don’t know where to start…?

I was too.

What’s This About?

“Aerospace: From Ground to Sky” is a content-rich, yet simple series created to introduce people to the fascinating world of aerospace engineering.

With this series, I’ll try to make popular aerospace concepts (focusing on spacecraft) digestible and enjoyable!

So… What’s the Content Like?

In “Aerospace: From Ground to Sky,” I’ll cover the fundamentals of aerospace technology, including how airplanes fly, the basics of rocket propulsion, exciting aspects of space exploration, and more! My focus is to make these topics interesting and easy to understand.

However… I won’t be diving into the advanced physics or thermodynamics behind rocket propulsion or anything of that matter.

This series is purely designed to provide a solid introduction and inspire curiosity.

You should expect to see the topics below published over the next couple of weeks (as of August 2024).

  1. What is Aerospace?
  2. The Space Race
  3. How Do Airplanes Fly?
  4. Parts of a Rocket
  5. How Do Rocket Engines Work?
  6. Rocket Navigation in Space
  7. Rocket Maneuvering: Gimbals and Fins
  8. Multi-Stage Rockets and Boosters
  9. Types of Rocket Fuels
  10. Reusable Rockets
  11. How Are Spacecraft Built?
  12. The Stages of Liftoff
Photo by SpaceX on Unsplash

Why Am I Creating This?

As a child, I was fascinated by aerospace engineering and the science behind rockets, but I was often unsure where to begin learning. Despite my eagerness to learn more, I frequently encountered research papers that were too complex for me.

I created this series to provide those who are curious about aerospace but unsure where to start, a solid foundation in aerospace engineering. I hope that this series will demystify important topics and spark curiosity in all minds.

Enjoy

--

--

Aditya Dutta

A young, curious writer & learner | Astronautics and aerospace enthusiast |