How to solve the housing problem in Barcelona and not die trying PART II

The design of a touchable solution to a big housing problem in Barcelona.

Adrián Padilla
3 min readMar 10, 2019

If you haven´t read it yet, please go to PART I Research.

As you know, the solution is a new mode to rent a house. The best way to understand and explain users, stakeholders, and other designers how it works, is a storyboard:

Then I created a user flow to settle the stages the customer will experience:

And the information architecture diagram with the parts of the app:

Paper prototype

Time to get a super fast paper prototype, in less than one hour. Using low fidelity wireframes and Pop by Marbel, I was ready to test the app in my iPhone and get feedback from real users. First impressions were good, and the idea really liked.

Paper and pencil possibilities are big.

Moodboard, naming

The words renovation, and rehabilitation (same way in Spanish) made me think of ‘re’ home, like a way to give new life to a house. With this name and some inspiration, I made and look & feel of the app, and a visual benchmark to compare how other logos are.

Moodboard
Visual benchmark with other housing companies.

Style guides

App interface

These are the splash screens when you run the app.
This is how the menu interaction works.
This is how you find an apartment and make an appointment.
This is how you manage appointments from your profile.
Landing page from you can download the app.

Final test

With the prototype ready, I asked some users to interact with it, and I did interviews with them later. I got very positive feedback and some helpful comments to improve some parts of it, like the naming or hierarchy of information. But the best part is that most of the users were very interested, and they wanted to know more details about contracts and payment methods!

Testing a prototype is crucial.

This project was made in two weeks and lots of hours of hard work. I am very happy with the acceptance of the users and my UX colleagues, and I hope someday I’ll be able to bring this prototype to life and improve the way we rent houses in Barcelona!

If you liked it, please clap or share the story. Thanks for reading! PD: Spanish version of this article coming soon!

--

--

Adrián Padilla

Hi! I’m a UX/UI Designer based in Barcelona always looking for projects.