Georgia Tech OMSCS Course Review

CS 7641, CS 8803-GA: Machine Learning and Algorithms

Adrian Chang
5 min readMay 27, 2018
Can’t graduate without these

Update (2019/06/11): I’m offering tutoring for OMSCS courses. Feel free to reach me through my request for tutoring form and I’ll get back to you as soon as possible!

Introduction

This story is the culmination of a set of OMSCS class reviews which recently reviewed CSE 6250, CS 7642, and CS 6476. In this story, I will review CS 7641 and CS 8803-GA using the same criteria I have been using for all of my class reviews: each course will be reviewed by teaching staff, hours needed to succeed, content, and assessments and then be assigned an overall rating.

CS 7641: Machine Learning

I took this course in my fifth semester in the Fall of 2017 with Prof. Isbell as the head instructor.

Teaching Staff: 3.75 / 5

Prof. Isbell and the TAs were good but could’ve been better. It seemed at times that only one or two TAs were addressing student concerns in the course: all of the TAs should have been actively involved all of the time. In addition, with the tradition of Prof. Isbell courses, the TAs generally provided vague answers to critical homework assignment questions to not expose how a homework assignment might be…

--

--