Day #4 — How to Virtually Eliminate Your Competition

Adam Dukes
3 min readMay 25, 2017

--

This is a LIVE case study where I am documenting my journey to becoming a highly paid marketing consultant by blogging everyday for 50 consecutive days. It’s called “50 Days to Freedom: My Journey to 5 Figures in 50 Days“. At the end of the post, you will find links to all the previous days.

Why should people buy from you?

This is such an important question, that most forget to answer. With the competition online, having a USP (Unique Selling Proposition) should be mandatory.

Too much vanilla online.

Too many people doing the same damn thing.

Too many coloring inside the lines.

Too many boring businesses out there.

Here is how you can stick out like a Millennial wearing a beanie in this Vegas desert heat…

4 Words to Virtually Eliminate Your Competition

It’s very simple to radically transform your business, but it’s not easy.

Huh?

I’ll get to that in a second…

A lot of business owners (mainly service providers, coaches & consultants) worry about the competition.

And I’d be lying if I didn’t do it at times, but have drastically improved in that area.

You could compete on price, service, guarantee, etc.

There are many ways to differentiate yourself. In the eCommerce space, a lot of marketers differentiate themselves on price, which is an eventual race to the bottom.

Same thing with service providers, they compete on price in hopes to win the deal/contract/client

And so many of them do this, which in turn, INCREASES their competition, at the bottom.

And I know this, because I battled to the bottom for YEARS.

Selling a website for $79 ain’t no way to make a living!

The one way I have found over the last 9 months that attracts people to you like a moth to a flame is:

BE YOUR UNAPOLOGETIC SELF

It also have the power to repel people from you, AND THIS IS A GOOD THING!

<GASP!>

Yes, repelling people is an extremely powerful way to market yourself and your business.

It took me years to figure this out as I wanted to please everyone.

I wanted everyone to want to do business with me.

So I colored inside the lines.

I kept my mouth shut.

Like marketing legend Dan Kennedy once said…

“If you haven’t pissed someone off by noon, then you probably aren’t making any money”

Remember, I said this was simple, not easy.

Here is how you can virtually eliminate your competition by being YOU…

>>> Share your beliefs with your email database, on your website and/or social media.

>>> Use your words/phrases/swearing (if that’s you) in your writings

>>> Share your opinions on topics

>>> Take a fucking stand for something you believe in!

>>> Tell stories about the bad times, as well as the good times.

>>> Share your fears, your hopes & your dreams with others.

>>> Share lessons you’ve learned over the years, or a lesson you learned that day.

Follow the above, and you virtually eliminate your competition.

Like I say often, it’s simple, not easy

Day #4 Breakdown

Today, I emailed CrossFit gym owners in Utah & Washington state. My ‘Godfather offer’ was a free 10 day trial of Facebook advertising.

Day #4 Numbers

Emails Sent: 75

Sales Calls: 1 (from someone I went to high school with — generated from my personal FB profile)

Facebook Posts: 4

Leads Generated: 4

Revenue Generated: $0

If you’re getting value from any of these posts, please share with one friend.

If you have comments and/or suggestions, please leave a comment below!

Last, but certainly not least: Thank you so much for reading, it means more than you know!

Follow along: Day 1, Day 2, Day 3, Day 4

--

--

Adam Dukes

A stay-at-home-Dadpreneur, a marketing strategist, a cheeseburger connoisseur and a wastebucket full of useless sports knowledge.