Why Adzee?

Adzee
2 min readNov 29, 2016

--

One afternoon I was feeling guilty for spending my entire workday maximizing shareholder value for the benefit of corporate executives and financiers, so I decided I would volunteer for something.

I searched the internet for “the best places to volunteer in the bay area” and was hit with a slough of ad results from the Clinton Foundation to Hooves and Paws. I scrolled endlessly through lists of the best places to volunteer. Many of these organizations were doing amazing things to help society, the environment, and the world, but I wasn’t sure how I could help them.

What could I actually do for these companies? Would volunteering in a kitchen or on the street really be the best use of my time?

Then I realized that the same skills I used to help businesses maximize profits could be used to help nonprofits.

I remembered Google Grants and discovered a number of for-profit organizations offering to help nonprofits manage their grants.

That didn’t feel right to me. Why should someone get to profit from what is effectively a donation to nonprofits?

Why shouldn’t digital advertisers offer their services for free?

Doctors and lawyers do it all the time.

Just because we are in the business of making a profit, it doesn’t mean that we can’t apply those same skills for good.

I called a couple of my friends and asked what they thought. They agreed and even offered to join the team.

And that’s how Adzee was born.

A simple idea to help digital professionals give back in the best way we know.

If you are interested in volunteering, please apply here: http://www.adzee.org/volunteer

Tom

--

--