aerialabby
3 min readNov 28, 2023

--

Dancing with the Winds: My Journey from Circus Train to Studio

Author: Abby Moldenhauer, Founder of Flying Fitness

Contact: admin@flyingfitnesstx.com IG: @flying.fitnesstx www.flyingfitnesstx.com

As I sit to pen down my journey with Aerial Silks, the fabric seems to whisper tales of my past — a past adorned with the glitter and gusto of circus life. I am Abby Moldenhauer, the soul behind Flying Fitness in Amarillo, Texas, and a storyteller of the skies who once swayed with the winds on the stages of Ringling Brothers and Barnum and Bailey.

A Tale Woven from the Heavens

The narrative of Aerial Silks is not just a chronicle of an art form but also a memoir of my life. It began in the enchanting realms of a French circus school, where a student experimented with fabric in the late 1950s, unknowingly birthing the art of aerial silks. This same spirit of innovation led me to Fred Deb, one of the queens of aerial silk, whose mentorship was a cornerstone in my career.

Under the Big Top: A Dream Realized

My foray into the world of Aerial Silk was not just about mastering an art; it was about living a dream. Performing with the iconic Ringling Brothers and Barnum and Bailey, I found my home in the skies and a family on the famous circus train. Each performance was an act of storytelling, where the silk and I spun tales of…

--

--

aerialabby
0 Followers

As a former Aerial Silk Artist w/ Ringling Brothers, now I hope to inspire & empower others in aerial arts as the CEO of Flying Fitness in Amarillo, Texas.