Yomi Fawehinmi
3 min readMay 2, 2021

Happy Birthday Sister Nike

Today is the birthday of my sister Stella Fawehinmi Ojediran. Happy Birthday, ma. More of God's grace. May you also enjoy God's blessings, abundance, bliss and joy. I celebrate you and thank you for all you do. God Bless.

One of the most underrated effects on the intellectual development and Career choices of a child is the role of the siblings. Your siblings will likely influence you more than teachers or Career Counsellors.

Talking about the impact of siblings, Sister Nike had a tremendous impact on my life. Let me mention seven of such...

1. She was the one that introduced me to fellowship and the born again experience. I have always loved to follow her when she goes out visiting so following her to the fellowship was natural. And then I got born again. E se pupo.

2. She was the one that taught me how to bake. She loved to bake and I was the untrained assistant. From her allowing me to mix the dough to cutting the chin-chin to checking the 'beer' meet.

3. Economics, Geography and Literature in English were some of the subjects I found extremely interesting and easy to understand. Sister Nike offered those subjects in Secondary School and A-Levels and she allowed me to read her books. I read her Economics textbook by Lipsey, read her literature books like the River Between by Ngugi Wa Thiongo and I remember she tells me about geography too. I read the Lion and the Jewels too. I couldn't understand the English of Shakespeare so I begged her to tell me the story of Macbeth. I still remember a line from Macbeth...

Macbeth, Macbeth
Beware of Madof
Beware of the take of fire
Dismiss me enough.

All this was when I was in primary school! Mo dupe.

4. When I was around seven years old, I had a lot of money( I smell jealousy). I made money from tips running errands, prizes won from my dancing competitions and money earned for doing well in school. ) But I didn't need the money so I started a lending business. I lent money out without interest. I didn't keep records or follow up to collect the loans. It was Sister Nike that helped go after my debtors and ensured they paid up. Then she starts her lessons about how to be a better lender! She was the CBN that ensured my 'First' Bank recovered all loans.

5. When I left secondary school and didn't get admission to the University, I decided to go to a school. She told me that I shouldn't even think of that school. That my potentials were higher. I agreed. She was right. Thanks for this.

6. When I wanted to write JAMB, I didn't know the school to select. She advised that I select FUTA. I didn't any school like that existed. I chose FUTA. I got admission, graduated with a first-class, got a masters and became a lecturer there. Her decision was God-inspired.

7. She introduced me to her friends who later became another source of blessings to me. Sister Ladun
and Tubo deserved special mention. These ladies helped me to become a better Christian. I can never forget them. Sister Peju was her roommate at the University and she became my egbon too. Patrick Edobor was another. He helped me become a better researcher and introduced me to a network of researchers at NCEMA. Tunji Olaniya was my landlord in Ondo. She was the one that spoke to him. Mr Olaniya accommodated me for free because of her. Antie Juliet, Antie Meg, Antie Simbo were good egbons. My sister made me know people jare.

Did I also mention how she encouraged me to try new things? The fellowship wanted to hold a program. And between her and Sister ladun, they co-opted me into acting drama. Yeah, I acted ooo... The drama was in one big auditorium in Ondo.

So, please join me to celebrate Sister Nike and appreciate her for all she has done. I only listed seven of them but they are more than that

Happy Birthday, ma... I am ever grateful to be your aburo

Yomi Fawehinmi

HR professional with expertise in Diversity &Inclusion, leadership dev, & Change Management, learning. Tweets : @yomitheprof